Thank You for the Blog of the Year Award

Great blue heron walking along the shore.

Great blue heron walking along the shore.

BOTY

I have been honored with the Blog of the Year Award by dear Petrel41 of the wonderfully eclectic blog Dear Kitty, where Petrel41 blogs on such diverse topics as animals, peace and war, science, social justice, women’s issues, arts, and more. Over time, I have come to appreciate the many informative and fascinating bird-related posts at Dear Kitty, such as this video about a green heron using bread to fish. Check it out.

In no meaningful order at all, here are the blogs I am nominating for this award. It’s impossible to list every worthy blog – there are so very many, too many to count – so if I have inadvertently omitted your blog, no slight is intended.

Prairie Birder

Texas Tweeties by Bob Zeller

Palm Rae Urban Potager

Photos Close to Home

Quiet Solo Pursuits

Leanne Cole Photography

Wind Against Current

Going Out is Really Going In

Goldbird Variations

Chronicles of a Public Transit User

Krahnpix

I See Beauty All Around by Rob Paine

Ilargia64

Rolling Harbour

Tish Farrell

The instructions for this award are simple:

1-Select the blog(s) you think deserve the Blog Of The Year 2013 Award.

2-Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen- there are no minimum or maximum number of blogs required- and ‘present’ the blog(s) with their award.

3-Let the blog(s) that you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the instructions with them- (please don’t alter the instructions or the badges!)

4-Come over and say hello to the originator of the Blog Of The Year 2013 Award via this link: http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/blog-awards-2-/blog-of-the-year-2013-award/

5-You can now also join the Blog Of The Year Award Facebook Page.Click the link here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/BlogoftheYear

Share your blog posts with an even wider audience.

6-And as a winner of the award- please add a link back to the blog that presented you with this award-and then proudly display the award on your blog- and start collecting stars!

Yes – That’s right-There are stars to collect!

Unlike other awards which you can only add to your blog once-this award is different!

When you begin you will receive the ’1 star’ award- and every time you are given the award by another blog- you can add another star!

There are a total of 6 stars to collect.

Which means that you can check out your favorite blogs- and even if they have already been given the award by someone else- you can still bestow it on them again and help them to reach the maximum of 6 stars! You can either ‘swop’ your badge for the next one each time you are given the award- or even proudly display all six badges if you are lucky enough to be presented with the award 6 times!

You can find all the badges and banners and information you need via this link: ‘Blog of The Year 2013′ Award Badges.

Congratulations to all the nominees! Best of luck to every one!

.
.

Thanks also to the kind folks at NaBloPoMo for the National Blog Posting Month challenge this November.

.
.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

(This took place December 31, 2004)

The Tao of Feathers™

© 2013 Babsje. (http://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Blog of the Year, Great Blue Heron, NaBloPoMo

Posted on November 15, 2013, in ardea herodias, Awards, Blog of the Year, BOTY, Community, daily prompt, Great Blue Heron, NaBloPoMo, postaday, Wildlife Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. Lovely photo and thanks so much for the nomination, that very exciting! Also, congratulations to you too!

  2. Well done :) Thanks so much for your kind words!

  3. I thank you for nominating my blog for the award, I really do appreciate it, but I decided not long after I first started blogging that I wasn’t going to participate in any of the awards. I’d be picking and choosing from a list of excellent blogs to comply with the awards, and I’d rather not do that.

    • You’re welcome, and I totally get it and understand. I’ve vacillated and decided for myself that ultimately whenever I choose to click the “like” button or post a comment on someone’s blog, I’m picking and choosing, though in a less visible way. But I totally appreciate your perspective. There’s a risk of offending someone by leaving them out, and that does make me a bit sad.

  4. Congratulations on receiving the award yourself, and thank you very much for nominating me as well.

  5. Congratulations, Babsje, and thanks so much for nominating us!! Much appreciated! :-)

  6. Congratulations – you are very deserving! =)

  7. You deserve this award!!!! I have not been on my computer the past few weeks as much, so when I got your message I was thrilled to find out you got an award!Your blog is one that I read often and one of the first I love to visit:-) I enjoy your beautiful photos + cleaver posts that always bring a smile to my face:-) Thank you for considering me in your list- I am honored that you thought of me…..Keep on shooting and sharing:-)

    • Dear Robbie – I’m so pleased that you are pleased with your award, and many thanks for your very generous compliment. Itruly enjoy reading your own blog. Years ago when I lived in an apartment 5 storeys up, I managed to have a balcony gaarden, with tomatoes, lettuce, basil, dill, cucumbers, and other herbs. Not bad considering it faced north!

  8. Congratulations — well deserved! It makes me so happy to picture you out there on the water enjoying your time with the herons — and then bringing them to us so we can do the same virtually!

    • Hi Naomi! Many thanks, good to hear from you, and I like how you have said that in your comment, about bringing the herons back to you virtually. I still owe you dinner, how about this coming Thursday? I’ll email you this afternoon. Thanks so much for visiting and commenting.

  9. Congratulations Babsje :) !|

  10. Congratulations on this well-deserved award.

  11. Babs, I am so sorry that I delayed commenting on this post. First of all congratulations to YOU for your award. It is richly deserved and is one of my favorites. I deeply appreciate your nominating me, but I will defer for now. I feel that I would leave out too many people to try to list my fifteen or so. In the four plus years I have been blogging I have picked up too many friends and don’t want to offend any of them. And of course, I hope I haven’t offended you.

    • Hi Bob – No apologies, necessary, and thanks for your kind reply. I know what you mean about being concerned that someone feels slighted or left out, it’s a concern that I sharer, as well, and I genuinely hope that none of my fellow bloggingfriends were disappointed… Keep up the wonderful experiments with your new videos!

  12. Congratulations to you, Babsje. Well deserved indeed. :)

  13. Congratulations on the deserved appreciation you have received!! I love that image you chose for this post too!! Just Lovely!!

    Hope your Thanksgiving was warm and wonderful and that the holiday season continues filled with lovely surprises!!

    • Hi Judy! Many thanks for your kind compliment. BTW, I love how you’re offering holiday cards at your blog, they’re so creative and beautiful and versatile, the way people can customize them. Wishing you a lovely holiday season, too. Best, Babsje

  14. Congratulations! A very well-deserved honor-

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 459 other followers

