Contortionist?

Can YOU pose like this Great Blue Heron?”

© Babsje (http://babsjeheron.wordpress.com) Great Blue Heron three weeks after fledging the nest.

Great blue Heron fledgling.

.

This week’s photo challenge is things that zig and zag. Thanks to Ben Huberman and WordPress for this topic. Doesn’t this Great Blue Heron fledgling look like his pose is in the shape of a “Z” with his head zigging one direction and his body zagging the other?

Thanks once again to Stewart Monckton for hosting the Wild Bird Wednesday challenge.

Thanks to Wordless Wednesday for the Wordless Wednesday challenge.

.
.

A selection of my heron and flower photos is now available at the Five Crows Gallery in Natick, MA. Drop in and see the work of the many wonderfully creative artists who show there when you’re in the area.

Five Crows is on FaceBook. To give the gallery a visit, please click here.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

The Tao of Feathers™

© 2014 Babsje. (http://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great Blue Heron, Fledgling

Posted on August 6, 2014, in ardea herodias, Art, Audubon, Birds, Great Blue Heron, Nature, Photography, Photography challenge, postaday, Weekly Photo Challenge, Wild Bird Wednesday, Wildlife Photography, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. after a few glasses of wine, maybe-lol:-) love those birds!

  2. Not unless I wanted to end up in traction for a few months! ;)

  3. Yikes….I hope he’s okay…..

  4. The new yoga! Wonderful photo! :)

  5. Great one for the zig zag theme Babsje!

  6. He could try out for Cirque du Soleil. :D

  7. definite zig-zag there!!

  8. Nice take on the theme. Different, but perfectly valid. Makes one wonder how long its neck would be if entirely stretched out. :)

    You’re welcome to come visit my late take on zigzag: http://wp.me/p255bn-ei

  9. That’s a zig zag alright.

  10. Excellent zigzagonal shot!

  11. Yeah, it is amazing what poses the herons can twist themselves into!! Amazes me to watch!! Cute youngster you captured there!!

    • Thanks, Judy, I’m glad you like this one. When that photo was taken, he was barely 3 weeks out of the next. I had been watching him and his nest-mate since beforee they were eggs actually, and it was a thrill to see them fledge successfully and return the following spring.

      • I understand the sentiment entirely!! It is easy to get attached when you watch them grow up. I love to see them standing around at the edge of the nest trying their wings…and then seeing them off learning how to catch fish. I never seem to get tired of it and I don’t think you do either!! :)

        • You know me too well, I could never tire of that. If I had the same sort of vantage points for nest watching that you have there – especially for your egrets – I might never put down the camera. :-)

          • I am sure you wouldn’t…I put in an 8 gig memory card every time I go out there because you never know! If you ever find yourself visiting South Florida during nesting season, I’d make sure you see the rookery I am addicted to.

            • Thanks, I may take you up on that sometime. And I hear you about the fresh memory card each time. Only two weeks ago I saw those two words no photographer wants to see: “FULL CF.” only the second time It has happened to me, which is two times too many.

              • Yep, you have to put a spare in your pocket!! And, then try not to drop the one you are removing into the water!

                • Oh my yes, hands shaking and kayak wobbling and trying to change out a card before the bird loses that pose. I’ve dropped sunglasses and two lens caps, but no memory cards thank goodness. :-)

  12. Great photo’s of the Blue héron Babsje and thanks for visiting my blog
    Marylou

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 456 other followers

