Things With Wings

My heart was in my throat as I watched, because it was such a long way down and he was still a beginner.

Great blue heron fledgling practicing flying one day before fledging for good.

Great blue heron fledgling practicing flying one day before fledging for good.

The title of today’s post is a nod to my favorite piano piece. The composer and artist is an outstanding pianist named Liz Story, and the tune Things with Wings is on her brilliant Windham Hill album named Solid Colors. WordPress asked us today tell people who we are through our favorite music, and I can think of no single piece that better shares my love of herons and egrets and other things with wings.

In my earlier post Fleet of Wing, Nimble of Foot, I wrote about the great blue heron nestlings fearlessly trying their wings more than seventy feet above the nesting island floor: My heart was in my throat as I watched, because it was such a long way down and he was still a beginner. And his nest mate? I imagined him thinking, “My turn, I want my turn now!”

The photo below at left shows the tall nesting tree at full height, with the two fledglings barely visible at the top. As you can see from the three photos to the right, there were indeed moments when the fledgling peered apprehensively downward while practicing out on that limb.

Nesting tree.

Nesting tree on the island is shown at left. At right, the fledgling startes down to the island floor.

Ailsa’s photo challenge for this week asked for entries on the topic of height, and while I’m afraid of heights, myself, the great blue herons certainly are not. That’s a good thing, as it keeps most predators away; apart from eagles and great horned owls and certain other raptors, the very high nests are a safe haven for the heron chicks.

.
.

Thanks to Ailsa and WordPress for the Travel Theme: Height prompt.

Thanks also to Michelle W. and WordPress for the Daily Prompt: Music nudge.

.
.

(This took place August 11, 2012)

© 2013 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Posted on October 6, 2013, in ardea herodias, Art, Bird photography, Birds, daily prompt, Great Blue Heron, Nature Photography, Photography challenge, postaday, Travel Theme Challenge, Weekly Photo Challenge, Wildlife Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. What an amazing capture! Beautiful bird, beautiful photos.

  2. I am terrifed of heights, too!!!! I wish I could fling myself off a tree and not feel any fear like this new guy:-)

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mix Tape Masterpiece | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: 10-7-13 Travel Theme: Height – Lower East Side Edition | The Quotidian Hudson

Leave a Reply

