If Not to Touch the Sky

I’ve looked at clouds from both sides now
From up and down, and still somehow
It’s cloud illusions I recall
I really don’t know clouds at all

Joni Mitchell
Both Sides Now

Great blue heron soaring two hundred feet up.

Great blue heron soaring two hundred feet high into threatening skies.

.
.

Thanks to the kind folks at Skywatch Friday.

Thanks also to Ailsa and WordPress for the Travel Theme: Height challenge.

.
.

© 2013 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Posted on October 11, 2013, in ardea herodias, Art, Bird photography, daily prompt, Feathers on Friday, Great Blue Heron, Nature Photography, postaday, Skywatch Friday, Weekly Photo Challenge, Weekly Travel Themes, Wildlife Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Courage (is what I think of when I see this image). Very nice.

  2. The heron looks like it will be fine through any storm. Actually, it looks like its floating freely and enjoying the views.
    Nice pix ….

  3. Cette photo a eu sur moi un grand pouvoir d’émotion et elle m’a inspiré 8 poèmes, ce qui fait un petit recueil. Si vous êtes d’accord, je pourrais citer sur mon blog 1 ou 2 de ces poèmes en regard de cette photo, qui m’a parue tellement belle. Qu’en pensez-vous ? Merci beaucoup de bien vouloir me dire si vous souhaitez percevoir des droits de propriété

    • Hi Kristel – I’m pleased that my photos have inspired some of your poetry, that’s a kind compliment. My French, however, isn’t good enough for me to understand what you are requesting. Is it possible for you to ask again in easier words for me? Thank you.

      • Oh oui, désolée, je vais essayer. Je voulais juste savoir si vous me permettiez de publier sur mon blog cette photo avec 1 ou 2 de mes poèmes. Merci beaucoup de m’autoriser à mettre un lien sur mon blog vers le vôtre et merci infiniment si vous acceptiez d’en mettre un aussi vers le mien. Best wishes.

  4. artistique sur cette photo, bien que mon recueil ne soit pas exploité commercialement.

  5. Je pourrais aussi mettre sur mon blog un lien vers votre blog, si cela vous convient

  6. Hello Babsje,
    I have now a new Web site (http://kristelsaintcyr-poesie.fr) in addition to my blog. In that Web site a GALLERY (GALERIE DE POEMES) displays some photos of my booklets of poems. I would like to ask you permission to use your photo as a pairing with some poems (of my booklet inspired by your photo). Of course I would insert a link to your blog within the acknowledgments on the following page, if you didn’t mind.
    Happy new year!
    Best wishes
    Kristel

    • Hi Kristel – Happy New Year to you, too. Your new website looks beautiful, and I’m flattered that you would like to use one of my photos on that site. A couple of things. The one photo that you use would need to display my copyright notice in the photo, itself (like I do on my blog). The ability for a reader on your website to “right-click” on my photo (to download it), must be disabled. If a reader clicks on the photo, it must link directly back to my blog (and not simply to a larger version of the photo). The metadata embedded in the photo must include the same metadata that is in my original version of the photo. Sorry for the fussy requirements, but I have had photos stolen and used in various places without my permission and without my copyright. Because I’m a professional, these things are important. Thanks for asking, and I’m flattered that you like this photo enough to use it.

  7. Thank you so much for all. I give up

Leave a Reply

