Being Now, Here

The kayak drifts in the deserted channel, weathercocking in a stiff breeze as I compose this post.

Alone. Just me and a great blue heron foraging under the maples on the far shore, 200 yards away.

Red tailed hawk silhouetted against a bruised sky.

Red tailed hawk silhouetted against a bruised sky.

Today, WordPress asked about the strangest place from where we have posted. That’s a no-brainer for me: as I write these words today, I’m floating along in a kayak on a moderate current, composing on the tiny keypad of a smart phone. I’m able to do almost anything from here that can be done on my laptop at home thanks to the wonders of android and WordPress.

It even let me insert the silhouetted red tailed hawk photo here as my entry for Sue’s “Silhouette” challenge this week.

WordPress, what a platform!

.
.

Thanks to Michelle W. for the Daily Prompt: Blogger in a Strange Land.

Thanks also to Sue for the Word a Week Challenge: Silhouette.

.
.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.

© 2013 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Posted on October 12, 2013, in A Word A Week Photo Challenge, ardea herodias, Art, Bird photography, Birds, daily prompt, Great Blue Heron, Nature Photography, Photography challenge, postaday, Red tailed hawk, Weekly Photo Challenge, Wildlife Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Amazing what we can do with today’s technology! Enjoy!

  2. Oh.. this is a different challenge.. but a good one.. Love your photo and I am amazed at the technology that brings it from your kayak to my home.

  3. It is a really touching image…gloomy and bright at the same time

    Bob

    http://bmyshot.wordpress.com/

  4. Hi there – nice post. I try to write outside (for my wordy blog) – but have never posted from a boat!

    Cheers – Stewart M – Melbourne.

    • Thanks! Outside writing is such a good thing. We humans sometimes spend far too much time indoors. I first blogged outside overlooking the Sudbury River from the grounds of Mass. Audubon back in 2005 and it was a liberating experience to realize that writing doesn’t require the Great Indoors.

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger in a Strange Land | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

