Sheldon, Come Home

All of the photos in my blog were taken within walking distance of home: great blue herons, egret, osprey, red tailed hawk.

Granted my definition of a walkable distance may differ from yours. After all, I have done the Boston. Marathon, walking. Twice.

But still, you know what I mean.

Great blue heron silhouetted deep inside tunnel.

Great blue heron silhouetted deep inside tunnel.

There’s a story floating around the internet, I first read it on a Yahoo meditation forum back in 2002 or 2003, and I don’t know who was the original author. Here it is:

An elderly woman in New York who goes to a travel agent and says, “Please get me a ticket to Tibet. I want to go see the guru.” 

The travel agent says, “You know, it’s a long trip to Tibet. You’d be much happier going to Miami.” 

She says “I insist. I want to go.” So this old lady gets a ticket, brings her things with her, gets on the plane and goes to India, gets the visa and the pass, takes the train up to Sikkim, gets a border pass, takes the bus up to the Tibetan plateau, and gets out. 

And they’re all saying, “Where are you going?” 

“I must go see the guru.”

They say, “It’s such a long way. You’re an old lady. It’s up in the mountains.” 

She says, “I’m going. I have to see the guru.” 

They say, “You know, you only get three words with him.” 

“It doesn’t matter, I am going.” 

So she goes, and she gets on the horse in Tibet, because there are no roads in this part, gets to the foot of this large mountain, and all these pilgrims are saying, “Where are you going?” 

She says, “I want to see the guru.” 

They say, “Remember, you get just three words.” 

She says, “I know, I know.”

She gets in line, gets up there, finally past the guards at the door who say, `Three words only.” 

She goes in and there’s the guru sitting in his robes with a kind of scraggly beard. He looks up at her and she looks at him, and she says, “Sheldon, come home!”

There are several takeaways possible from that humorous story, and you don’t need me to spell them out, but one of the things it reminds me about is this: there is infinite beauty where we live, if we but have eyes to see. You don’t need to travel to the ends of the earth to find beauty.

I love the title of Rob Paine’s blog: I See Beauty All Around.

And Ben Royal has a wonderful blog, Photos Close to Home – all of the photos on that blog were taken within 10 miles of home as an exercise in learning how to see. He has a point – if a person cannot take a good photograph at home, they won’t be able to take a good quality photo after traveling to an exotic location.

There is infinite beauty where you are, within you and around you.

.
.

Thanks to Ben Huberman and WordPress for the Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinity prompt.

Thanks also to Sue for the Word a Week Challenge: Silhouette.

.
.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.

© 2013 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Posted on October 14, 2013, in A Word A Week Photo Challenge, ardea herodias, Art, Bird photography, Birds, daily prompt, Great Blue Heron, Nature Photography, Photography challenge, postaday, Weekly Photo Challenge, Wildlife Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hilarious story, Babs. I shared it on my Facebook page and gave a link to your blog.

  2. A lovely story, Babsje. 🙂 I’m very impressed with your having done those marathons.

    • I’m so glad you like this one! Thanks for commenting on it. About the marathons: I don’t have the knees to be a runner, nor the dedication necessary for the grueling training regimen. But walking a marathon at a comfortable pace isn’t as hard as it sounds IF the weather is cool, not humid or hot.

Leave a Reply

