Magnolia Blossoms

Suddenly I realize
That if I stepped out of my body I would break
Into blossom.

James Wright
A Blessing (excerpt)
The Branch Will Not Break

Magnolias

Magnolias

Yes, I know they’re not herons.

However, the magnolia blossoms in my magnolia photo series were plucked from a branch on the same Sunday walk of the first great blue heron encounter I chronicled here. (Please click here to catch up if you missed that post.)

They say that scent has more power to elicit past memories and emotions than any of our other senses.

The scent of magnolia blossoms transports me back to that day of the heron, just as surely as a photograph would, and I am enraptured all over again.

.
.

Thanks to the kind folks at NaBloPoMo for the National Blog Posting Month challenge this November.

Thanks to Ailsa for the Weekly Travel Theme: Delicate.

Thanks also to Skinnywench for the Word a Week Challenge: Two. (Two blossoms of my favorite flower.)

Thanks to Cee also for her Fun Foto Challenge. (There’s that subtle shadow again for you, Cee.)

Thanks once more to Ese for her Ese’s Weekly Shoot & Quote Challenge – Allure.

Thanks also to the kind folks at Macro Monday for the MacroMonday challenge.

Thanks as well to Laura who invited me to join I Heart Macro Week.

.
.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.

(This took place April, 2004)

© 2013 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Posted on November 4, 2013, in A Word A Week Photo Challenge, Art, Cee's Fun Foto Challenge, Ese's Weekly Shoot & Quote Challenge, Flower Photography, Macro Monday, Magnolia, NaBloPoMo, Nature Photography, Photography, postaday, Weekly Travel Themes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Magnificent photo of the Magnolia, Babs.

  2. Gorgeous entry!! Thanks so much for playing!

  3. So delicate and beautiful!!! The link to I Heart Macro is still open if you’d like to share this with followers at my blog too.

    Also, please consider yourself officially invited to participate this year’s 5th Annual Gratitude (word) Quilt. Instructions (it is very simple) and a link that explains the origin of the word quilt can be found at the top of my blog. In past years there have been participants from every continent except Antarctica. I hope you’ll join us:-)

    • Hi Laura, thanks for your kind comments and invitations. I’ve added to I Heart Macro already and am also considering your gratitude project. Thanks again!

  4. So pleased you added your lovely link to I Heart Macro… I do hope you’ll join again sometime.

  5. That photo is absolutely beautiful!

    janet

Leave a Reply

