Great Blue Heron Using Wings for Wordless Saturday

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great blue heron hover fishing – high wings cast a shadow over the water to lure fish.

.
.

Thanks to the kind folks at NaBloPoMo for the National Blog Posting Month challenge this November. (Today is the final day of NaBloPoMo, so congrats to all who participated by posting every day during November,)

Thanks once again to Stewart Moncton for the Wild Bird Wednesday prompt.

Thanks to Ailsa for the Weekly Travel Theme: Sky. (The heron reaches for the sky with wings to create shadows on the water’s surface, then stands stock still until the fish are tricked by the shadows.)

Thanks also to Sue for the Word a Week Challenge: High. (Holding wings high casts shadows on the water that lure in the fish, they fall for it repeatedly.)

.
.

A selection of my heron and flower photos is now available at the Five Crows Gallery in Natick, MA. Drop in and see the work of the many wonderfully creative artists who show there when you’re in the area.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

The Tao of Feathers™

(This photo was taken July 22, 2007.)

© 2013 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great Blie Heron, Hover Fishing

Posted on November 30, 2013, in A Word A Week Photo Challenge, ardea herodias, Art, Bird photography, Fishing, Great Blue Heron, NaBloPoMo, Nature Photography, Photography, postaday, Weekly Travel Themes, Wild Bird Wednesday, Wildlife Photography, Wordless Saturday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Pretty neat. I have never seen this before. I am learning something new all of the time from your photos, Babs. 🙂

  2. I nominated you for Very Inspiring Blogger…I love your photos and humor…I have no doubt you have been awarded every possible award out there…-tee hee..but had to let you know, you were on my list. I usually can’t make decisions about this type of stuff , so this time it was easy because the award was about “inspiration” and I can do that! I just love stopping by and looking at your posts and photos and enjoy your “witty” posts…:-) Your blog is inspiring to me:-)

    Here, are the rules, but I understand if you don’t have the time–just wanted you to know you are a great inspiration…

    http://thebelmontrooster.wordpress.com/2013/11/25/my-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    • Wow, I’m so honored and humbled by this award and your thoughtfulness, Robbie! Many thanks for your very kind compliment! I will definitely follow-up per the rules, but it might take me a few days. Thanks again! Best, Babsje

      • take a few days..look at my post on it, I am still working on the list( lol)..I wrote something about you there, too:-)…I got your award last time, but I was not able to get it done…I am trying ,but you can see…I am so SLOW…congrats..you deserve it!

        • Thanks, your post is great – you wrote very nice comments about each of your nominees, they make me want to visit each of those blogs – they’re all new to me. what fun that will be! Best, Babsje

Leave a Reply

