Very Inspiring Blogger Award, Thanks Palm Rae Urban Potager!

.

.

I have been presented the Very Inspiring Blogger Award by dear Robbie of the wonderful blog Palm Rae Urban Pottager. I’m touched and honored by Robbie’s generosity in recognizing this great blue heron blog in such a kind way. Thank you, Robbie!

What is an Urban Pottager, you may ask. As Robbie explains, her Urban Pottger is much more than a kitchen garden. It’s a place to grow food, flowers, and community together while nurturing creative souls, a space to help heal nature in our cities.

Her blog is one of the most green blogs I’ve read, but I don’t think she’s used that label. Instead, she writes that she is

… constantly learning about growing in small areas, vertically, containers, recycled raised beds, apartments, suburban lots or any place that a person does not have enough space to grow food… We have to raise organic food right where we are with what we have…we have to practice succession plantings, raise our own seedlings, micro farm during the cold months and research, experiment, and find what works with our unique growing problems. ….applying what we know today and yesterday into a Modern Day Sustainable Oasis…

Robbie’s big heart for nature and community has deep roots, and she practices the sustainability that she preaches, cultivating the garden and generously sharing what she has learned with her readers. A recent post she wrote about trying to save a very special tree was suspenseful, my anxiety built as she wove her story, and spoke of there being only a single Arborist in her four-city area. (In our town, we had an official “Tree Warden,” not an Arborist.)

When you have the chance, take a moment and visit Palm Rae Urbn Pottger to tune in on how sustainability can be actively practiced on a local level, you might learn a lot. I know I did.

I’m happy that Robbie has granted the great blue herons and me this award, and value her blogging friendship very much. Thank you again, Robbie!

Now, on to the process… For my position on the sometimes hot potato topic of awards, please click here and read Just Sayin… A Word About Awards.

RULES FOR THE VERY INSPIRING BLOGGER AWARD (As borrowed shamelessly from the inspiring blogger, Belmont Rooster)

1. Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog.

2. Display the award on your post. (Download buttons from the link two lines above this one.)

3. List the award rules so your nominees will know what to do.

4. State 7 things about yourself.

5. Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award.

6. Contact your nominees to let them know you have nominated them. Provide a link to your post.

7. Proudly display the award logo (or buttons) to your blog, wither on your side bar, ABOUT page, or a special page for awards. (Ok, I am behind on doing this, myself, time to update the blog menu.) Let other bloggers see right up front that you are an award winner and HAVE participated in the award process (there should be an award for that all by itself!).

SEVEN THINGS ABOUT MYSELF:

1. I am shy and don’t enjoy about talking about myself. It’s not about me, it’s about the great blue herons. In Journalism School, they taught us, “Report the story, don’t BE the story.” words to live by.

2. If I were to die and come back as other than myself, I’d come back as a Great Blue Heron.

3. I love to park the kayak in the shade of the trees and read. I have read entire books out on the water.

4. My first camera was bequeathed to me by my grandfather when I was seven. It was an old brownie that I treasured.

5. My first paying photography job was hanging a Diane Arbus exhibit for minimum wage. I would have paid her to be allowed to do that.

6. My first painting was a paint-by-numbers pastoral scene of a horse under an overhanging tree branch. While it was partly done and drying, it got knocked down between the oven and cabinets in our childhood kitchen. I cried at the time. I cried again when it was recovered 20 some years later.

7. I love to read – books – and always have a two or three underway at the same time, for variety. I hate coming to the end of a really good book.

SOME INSPIRING BLOGGERS

In no meaningful order at all, here are some blogs I am nominating for this award. It’s impossible to list every worthy blog – there are so very many, too many to count – so if I have inadvertently omitted your blog, no slight is intended. Some people may not wish to participate, and that’s fine, no pressure; I absolutely respect that some don’t have the time or interest.

Also, there are some blogs I ache to nominate, but I know upfront the bloggers don’t do awards. So, to you, and you, and you, and even you, please know that you’re appreciated in whatever other way that’s acceptable to you.

And some of the recipients below may scratch their head and say “Who is that Babsje and why is she saying those nice things about my blog?” I’m not a prolific commenter, but I do lurk and read and appreciate your works silently just the same.

I am a person of many facets, and find many different things inspiring on many different levels. Be forewarned that this is a very eclectic list of blogs – some rich and deep, some humorous, some earnest, some sassy, some literary, others simply photos, but all have nuggets that can inspire in their own way.

ospreypaddler

through the viewfinder

The Year of Living Non-Judgmentally

Composer in the Garden

Janthina Images Photo Journal

Phil Lanoue Photography

Nick’s Nature Pics

Wind Against Current

Still Life With Tortillas

Honk if You’re Vegan

Dear Kitty

Cee’s Photography

The Visual Chronicle

Heron There & Everywhere

Little Dogs Laughed

Vector Charley

Old Woman on a Bicycle

MJF Images

Art Towards A Happy Day

The Wine Wankers

Rainbow Bakery

Jane Lurie Photography

Thanks again, Robbie!

.
.

Related Posts

The Day of the Helicopter

Belmont Rooster is a Gem of a Blogger

.
.

A selection of my heron and flower photos is now available at the Five Crows Gallery in Natick, MA. Drop in and see the work of the many wonderfully creative artists who show there when you’re in the area.

Five Crows is on FaceBook. To give the gallery a visit, please click here.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

The Tao of Feathers™

© 2013 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Awards, Kayaking

Posted on December 10, 2013, in Art, Awards, Community, Gratitude, Inspiration, Kayaking, postaday, Very Inspired Blogger Award and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. Congratulations, Babsje, you actually ARE a very inspiring blogger! And thank you for your kind nomination; it is an honor.

  2. Congratulations to you and to all whom you have nominated.

  3. Thanks so much Babsje! I really appreciate it and display your award proudly on my awards page: http://rainbowbakery.wordpress.com/awards/

  4. Once more I congratulate a very deserving you! I love being able to picture you reading as you drift along in your kayak! It explains much! 😉

    • Many thanks, Gunta. Your blog was one I wanted to no nominate but didn’t because I know you no longer do awards. Yeah, reading on the water is a great way to relax. Once I was so relaxed I dozed off, which is far too relaxed a state when in a kayak.

  5. Hi Babsje, Congratulations on your well deserved award for you certainly are inspiring. Thank you for your nomination and for your continued support of my photography. It is a greatly appreciated affirmation of where I wander with my lens. You are very kind and a wonderful member of the blogging community!

    • Hi Jane – Thank you for your kind words about my blog, and you’re welcome – your blog is definitely worthy of the inspiring adjective. I enjoy following as your lens wanders the world and your shot of the giraffe nosing into trees with the city skyline looming in the background is a delight.

  6. Congratulations! And thank you so much for nominating my blog 🙂

  7. Congratulations on getting the award. I actually gave it to Robbie. Thanks so much for passing it on to.

  8. Congratulations, Babsje! And thanks so much for the nomination—we are honored… 🙂

    • Thank you, Vlad! And you’re welcome. You and Johna are an inspiritation, training for Everglades 2014 while keeping rigorous professional AND blogging schedules. Not to mention undertaking that training in cold NY waters in winter.
      🙂

  9. Congratulations for your very well deserved award, Babsje. Inspiring blog! And thank you for nominating me too! I am honored, my dear! 🙂

  10. Wow, you are as interesting as your photos! I am glad you shared about yourself. Diane Arbus I have not heard that name in years:-) You are a truly creative soul…

  11. Babsje, I am so grateful for your nomination of my blog Still Life with Tortillas and can’t wait to display the award! This is a true honor for me, especially coming from the Blogging Goddess of Herons, whose amazing visuals and narratives I adore. THANK YOU!

    • Oh I like how that sounds: Blogging Goddess of Herons. You are too kind. And you’re welcome, I’m pleased to hear tht you’re happy about being nominated. Your story about finding a home for the baby grand piano is a gem!

  12. A BIG congrats on your award!! And thank you so much for nominating me – I really appreciate it!!! Celeste 🙂

  13. Well done on receiving your award nomination! 🙂

    • Thanks for your kind words, and keep up the good work with your delightful blog. Paraphrasing that old tv commercial, “It’s not your Father’s Oldsmobile wine blog.” 🙂

  14. Babjse, that Great Blue Heron picture with the plastic bag is an amazing shot!! Shame we humans can’t clean up after ourselves!! I posted the Very Inspiring Blogger Award as a post as well as on the Awards page. I really do thank you for giving me the opportunity to share. I was ready to say thanks to blogs, like yours, which kept me smiling and distracted when I was sick!! Hope its ok!!

    • Many thanks for your thoughtful comment here, thanks for your kind words about the plastic bag photo. That was an extraordinary moment, made more interesting when a young male heron attempted to put the moves on the female with the prize bag. I’m glad you’re pleased with your Inspiring Blogger award, it’s well-deserved. Your art is rich and exquisite! Best, Babsje

  1. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger Award, thank you Babsje! | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

