Versatile Blogger Award

.

.

I have been presented the Versatile Blogger Award by dear Donna of the wonderful blog Heron There & Everywhere. With a title like that, how can I, blogger of herons, not have been drawn to her blog?

I’m honored by Donna’s thoughtfulness in acknowledging my great blue heron blog in such an unexpected and kind way. Thanks so much, Donna!

I feel like it is I who should be rewarding Donna for being versatile, rather than the other way around. She is working full time, in the final days of completing her college degree this month, as an adult learner, she’a mother to two young-adult sons, and blogging. On more than two blogs. She has a delightful squirrel named Sera, who now has her own fanciful blog.

I admire Donna for undertaking a college degree as an adult. Her program sounds intense. As she recently blogged

I have three weeks to go before I am done with school. I am still working hard on trying to put together the final project I need for graduation.

When I began this class, there was a fellow student who introduced herself by saying that this was her second time through the class.  She failed the first time because it was such a challenge.

You’re in the homestretch now Donna, less than a couple of weeks to go! Quite an accomplishment.

It’s humbling that Donna took time out from that heavy workload to honor my heron blog, a generius gesture. I’m touched and just want to say that I value your blogging friendship very much. Thank you again, Donna!

Now, on to the process… For my position on the sometimes hot potato topic of awards, please click here and read Just Sayin… A Word About Awards.

THE GUIDELINES

  • This award actually has its own site with the official rules listed. Click here to learn more about the The Versatile Blogger Award.
  • Versatile Blog buttons for your site are available, click here.
  • Thank the person who gave you the award and link back to their site.
  • Nominate 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award.
  • List 7 things about yourself. 

SEVEN THINGS ABOUT MYSELF:

1. I’m not a big fan of “rules” so I changed that word to “guidelines,” above.

2. My favorite models are Great Blue Herons.

3. Like most artists, I fall in love with my models: Great Blue Herons, Egrets, comets & meteors. It’s an unrequited love.

4. I practice both Fine Art Photography and Photojournalism – not at the same time, of course, as the rules are very different.

5. A friend asked if I could live anywhere, where would that be? My answer, “Here.”

6. I am shy and don’t enjoy about talking about myself. It’s not about me, it’s about the great blue herons. In Journalism School, they taught us, “Report the story, don’t BE the story.” words to live by.

7. If I were to die and come back as other than myself, I’d come back as a Great Blue Heron.

SOME VERSATILE BLOGGERS

In no meaningful order at all, here are some blogs I am nominating for this award. It’s impossible to list every worthy blog – there are so very many, too many to count – so if I have inadvertently omitted your blog, no slight is intended. Some people may not wish to participate, and that’s fine, no pressure; I absolutely respect that some don’t have the time or interest.

Also, there are some blogs I ache to nominate, but I know upfront the bloggers don’t do awards. So, to you, and you, and you, and even you, please know that you’re appreciated in whatever other way that’s acceptable to you.

And some of the recipients below may scratch their head and say “Who is that Babsje and why is she saying those nice things about my blog?” I’m not a prolific commenter, but I do lurk and read and appreciate your works silently just the same.

I am a person of many dimensions and tastes, and find many different things interesting on many different levels. Be forewarned that this is a very eclectic list of blogs – some rich and deep, some humorous, some earnest, some sassy, some literary, others simply photos, but each of these bloggers is talented and versatile in their own way.

Moments to Treasure

Zebra Designs & Destinationa – An Artist’s Eyes Never Rest

Bente Haarstad Photography

Memory to Remember

Where’s My Backpack

Redstuffdan

Victor Rakmill Photography

A Word in Your Ear

northumbrianlight

Serendipity

rabirius

BLUEBRIGHTLY

Dot Knows

From the Bartolini Kitchens

restlessjo

What’s (In) the Picture?

Licht Years

Flights of Wonder

Thanks again, Donna!

.
.

Related Posts

The Day of the Helicopter

Versatile Blogger Award

.
.

A selection of my heron and flower photos is now available at the Five Crows Gallery in Natick, MA. Drop in and see the work of the many wonderfully creative artists who show there when you’re in the area.

Five Crows is on FaceBook. To give the gallery a visit, please click here.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

The Tao of Feathers™

© 2013 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Awards

Posted on December 12, 2013, in Awards, Community, Inspiration, postaday, Versatile Blogger Award, Weekly Travel Themes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Thank you Babsje! I am always honoured when I someone awards me! However, awards take time and that is scarce at the moment. I do appreciate your kindness and thoughtfulness. I am happy to read you enjoy my blog and I am happy you are following me!

    • You’re welcome, Chris, I really like your early photos of Egypt! I totally understand about how time-consuming the awards are and how scarce and valuable your time is, no worries. I’m glad that you’re pleased with the recognition.

  2. Congratulations! Your photography is wonderful and deserving of all awards you are sure to receive. Thank you, too, for honoring me with a nomination. You’re very kind.

    • Thanks for your kind thoughts, John, and you’re welcome for your nomination Your blog is so well-crafted, and the food so appealing that I eagerly watch for new posts from you! It’s well-deserved.

  3. Thank you so much. It’s always an honour to be recognised like this, even if the Awards process is a bit of a time consumer. With me it’s a bit like wanting your cake and eating it! 🙂 Your blog is uniquely beautiful and I always enjoy my visits whenever I stop by.

    • Hi Jo, you’re very welcome for the award. Your post on the “grand” theme is sumptuous and elegant. And yes, the awards process is like having your cake and eating its, too, well-said. Many thanks for your kind compliment!

  4. Congratulations to you, and all the herons, for the award. And thank yo so much for nominating me, that is really kind of you.

    • Thank you, and you’re welcome. Your photos are always striking, and the expression you captured on the baby reindeer’s face is moving, that’s an exquisitely lovely post, photos and words, both. I’m flay you’re pleased by your nomination.

  5. Barbara Couchois

    THANK YOU! I just received my beautiful blue heron prints and they are extraordinary! I am honored and so grateful!

    Merry Merry!

    Hope you have a wonderful holiday season!

    Barb

    Sent from my iPhone

    • You’re very welcome! I’m glad you like them, and am sure you’ll give them a good home. They’re from a series I have at the Five Crows Gallery, and not on my website so thats why you haven’t seen these photos before. Consider one a birthday present and the other for Christmas. I should have included a note with them, but was in a hurry to make the post office before closing. Best, Babsje

  6. Thank you Babsje both for the award and appreciating my blog. I hope you will not be offended if I do not participate in this as I post my photos simply as ‘moments to treasure’. I am greatly flattered that you even considered me for this award. Thank you 🙂

    • You’re welcome, your blog has so many lovely photos, and that yellow flower is stunning! I’m not at all offended, and understand your sense of “moments to treasure.” I’m glad you share those moments with peopl via your blog! Thank you for doing that.

  7. Thank you so much for nominating me for this award-I’m actually very lucky to have been given this one already but am honoured that you have thought of me. Sadly I’m also a bit hopeless about following what I’m supposed to do with an award! However, I think you have been correctly given the Versatile Blogger Award 😀 I always love looking at your photos, they are always wonderful. Thanks again 🙂

    • You’re welcome, and so now your blogs doubly-blessed with the Versatile Blogger award, good for you! Many thanks for your kind words about my photos. Best, Babsje

  8. You deserve the award! I wonder.. Would you be a great model for the photographer if you came back as a great blue heron?lol:-)

  1. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger Award, thank you Babsje! | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  2. Pingback: A Word a Week Photography Challenge-Track | WoollyMuses

  3. Pingback: A MEGA THANK YOU TO MY GOOD FRIENDS | SERENDIPITY

Leave a Reply

