The Bee’s Knees

“It’s like this,” Pooh said. “When you go after honey with a balloon, the great thing is not to let the bees know you’re coming. Now, if you have a green balloon, they might think you were only part of the tree, and not notice you, and if you have a blue balloon, they might think you were only part of the sky, and not notice you, and the question is: Which is most likely?”

“Wouldn’t they notice you underneath the balloon?” you asked.

“They might or they might not,” said Winnie-the-Pooh. “You never can tell with bees.” He thought for a moment and said: “I shall try to look like a small black cloud. That will deceive them.”

Winnie the Pooh
A. A. Milne

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Blue bee in the heart of a yellow lily.

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Blue bee flying out of a yellow lily

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Blue bee climbing about in the heart of the lily.

.

This week, Josh has asked us to show family, and Ese to show buzz. What has more buzz than a family of bees? Even Winnie the Pooh would agree these three blue ones are the bee’s knees.

.
.

Thanks to Josh R and WordPress for the Weekly Photo Challenge: Family.

Thanks to Ese for her Weekly Shoot & Quote Challenge: Buzz.

Thanks to Sue for her A Word a Week Photo Challenge: Yellow prompt.

.
.

A selection of my heron and flower photos is now available at the Five Crows Gallery in Natick, MA. Drop in and see the work of the many wonderfully creative artists who show there when you’re in the area.

Five Crows is on FaceBook. To give the gallery a visit, please click here.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

The Tao of Feathers™

© 2014 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Blue Bee, Lily

Posted on January 21, 2014, in A Word A Week Photo Challenge, Art, Bees, Ese's Weekly Shoot & Quote Challenge, Flower Photography, Flowers, Nature Photography, Photography, postaday, Weekly Photo Challenge, Wildlife Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Pretty. Reminds me of summer which I wish was closer.

    • Hi Phil, thanks. I’m with you wishing summer was closer! Odd, two weeks ago we had the Polar Vortex, and all the birds disappeared. Last week, we had early spring weather, temps in the 50s, but still no birds. Today we have a blizzard warning, and dozens, and dozens, and dozens, and dozens of birds. There are dozens of robins perched along the roofline of the houses, and huddling along the edges of chimneys. Many starlings, too, and my first ever Bluebird!

  2. Very, very cute 🙂

  3. Perfection. I don’t think the birds are any more confused than us humans.

  4. LOVE THE BEES!!!!! They just make my life hum:-)lol…I just love how you take a story +connect it to your pictures in such a wonderful way…You are so gifted…great post!!!!

    • Robbie, many thanks for your generous compliment, I’m so glad you like this one. I thought you’d like a pollinator post. Funny thing, I am dreadfully allergic to bees – not afraid, just allergic – and so this photo session was a nail biter, getting that close to the bees.

      • OH MY GOODNESS…that must be awful to be allergic to bees + you like to be outside taking pictures:-( make sure you keep your “pen” handly( I can’t remember the official name/ benedryl someplace!) , so you don’t get bitten alone..that would be awful….I am allergic to peanut butter, and always wondered why it could not be chocolate! We can’t pick it I guess!

        • Thanks, Robbie! Epipen is a great thing, as is Benadryl. Benadryl saved my toe once when I got stung on my foot. Be careful with your peanut allergy, peanuts are everywhere! And you don’t really wish it was chocolate, I know you don’t. 😉

  5. Gorgeous photography, Babsje. 🙂

  6. Great shots – and not that you even need another theme or link – but these photos are also great for a TRIPLE SHOT – which is just something little I am doing this year. anyhow, this coming Friday I am going to link this post – because it is thrice and nice! 😉

  7. Very nice! Love pooh and the lilly too! Is that ‘Belladonna’? I’m joining in triple-shot Friday as well.

    • Thanks, I’m glad you like the bee photos. I’m not sure of the name of the yellow lily. It’s from a garden planted in front of a favorite restaurant, where I took the photos me day.

  8. Amazing shots of bees! I love Pooh Bear too. Thanks for the recent visit to my blog!

Leave a Reply

