He started it! No, she started it!

Any day you see a Bald Eagle is a good day.

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Bald Eagle eyes the photographer.

I’m not sure who started it. Was it Phil Lanoue who first said it? Maybe it was Gunta who said it first?

Not important, but I do get a kick out of seeing the banter between those two about eagles.

There’s a saying in birding: if you didn’t get a photo, it didn’t happen. Last summer, I saw my first wild Bald Eagle – twice. The first time, I grabbed the binocs instead of camera, and by the time I had the camera up, the eagle had flown. The second time, I was ready for her, and got the camera poised and ready in time, except for that pesky lens cap, which I had forgotten to remove. Since I failed to get photos, neither of those encounters counted.

This weekend however, was a different story. I stood on the shoreline yesterday watching a pair of Bald Eagles more than a quarter mile away.

At one point, I realized one of the eagles was watching me watch them. He suddenly swooped up from his perch atop the pines and made a beeline across the water. In the animated sequence that follows next, you can see the eagle turn it’s head to aim its eye directly down at me in the third frame, before resuming his usual flight posture and passing overhead.

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Bald Eagle flying overhead.
© 2014 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

.
.

(To be continued.)

.
.

Thanks to Cheri Lucas Rowlands and WordPress for their Weekly Photo Challenge: On The Move. The Bald Eagle was definitely on the move, speeding across more than a quarter mile of water to check up on the photographer watching from shore. Also, the animated image represents another form of “movement.”

.
.

A selection of my heron and flower photos is now available at the Five Crows Gallery in Natick, MA. Drop in and see the work of the many wonderfully creative artists who show there when you’re in the area.

Five Crows is on FaceBook. To give the gallery a visit, please click here.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

The Tao of Feathers™

© 2014 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Bald Eagle

Posted on May 11, 2014, in Art, Bald eagle, Bird photography, Charles River Watershed, Nature, Photography, postaday, Weekly Photo Challenge, Wildlife Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. Phil started it, but I’ve kept it going. I love the banter, too. I’m just so thoroughly stoked at finding the eagle’s nest. I don’t always find them there and I can’t see down into the nest, but it’s still a huge thrill. Your animated flight sequence is marvelous. You’ll have to tell me how you pulled that off. My email address is at my ‘about’ page if you don’t want to post it here. 😀

    Oh, and…… seeing that GBH at the newly restored marshland totally made my day yesterday.

    • Thanks, Gunta, so glad you like it, and so glad you and Phil are keeping that banter going. I am way behind on blogs, will have to check out your latest eagle photos – I think the one I linked to is a couple of months old, but it’s just wonderful that you were able to zero into their nesting location. It is indeed a huge thrill, and I’m happy for you! Will follow up later on the animation technique, thanks for pointing me to your email addy! 🙂

    • I just saw your GBH, lovely and glad the marshland has been restored. Getting back to your question about how I animated that sequence, first I need to know what photo editing software you use, then will follow-up. Thanks.

  2. A decade or so ago, a Bald Eagle pair would be roosting in a sycamore at the end of our gravel drive when we awoke. After several weeks, we presumed that we were THEIR morning entertainment as we fed the horses, etc. Great shots!

    • Thanks, John – I like your imagery very much – you and Robin entertaining the eagles! So often we humans only consider our perspectives in watching wildlife, and we don’t think about the wildlife watching us in return. But they are watching us, always. Glad you liked the photos.

  3. I totally agree with your opening words. With many subjects, I need a photo for it to “count,” but for an eagle, it really is thrilling just to see one. Like others, I really like your animated sequence of shots.

    • Hi Mike, thanks for your kind thoughts. Glad you like the animation and the lead sentence. All credit for that phrase goes to Phil Lanoue. He started using that phrase, and Gunta picked up on it, I guess now it was my turn.

  4. Out of this world, these shots, Babsje. I think I would burst with excitement for such a view in real life. Thank you 🙂

    • Hi Tish – Thanks so much for your enthusiastic comment, I’m so glad you like the eagle photos! It was definitely unexpected to see them!

  5. Wonderful photos! And how lucky you are to be close to them when it’s not 10 below zero…:-)

    • Lisa, thanks so much for your kind words, I’m glad you like the eagle photos. And yes, I don’t do photos of anything when it’s 10 below. It was a cold winter here near Boston, but not nearly like what you experienced there in Chicago this year.

  6. That is one of my favorite sayings because it’s so true! 🙂

  7. For a “rookie” as far as eagle photography, you did exceptionally well! It’s hard to get the exposure correct at times.

    • Thanks so icy for your kind compliment – I was fortunate that day, first in seeing the eagle at all, and then having the eagle become curious enough to fly towards the shore where I stood. Having the photos come out was icing on the cake for sure.

  8. Then you must have had an exceptionally good day! Great shots. And it did happen!

    • Thanks, Lyle, glad you like the eagles. Funny story – my eyes aren’t very good and so I wasn’t sure about the type of bird approaching me from a quarter mile away until I downloaded the photos. What a surprise to see an eagle. I would have expected a heron based on location!

  9. I’m constantly amazed by your photographs. Pure art!

Leave a Reply

