Busted!

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Wonder what he’s thinking as he discovers the camera.

.
.

Thanks to Michelle W and WordPress for their Weekly Photo Challenge: Extra-Extra. People who know me know that my motto is “Walk softly and carry a long lens.™” Because most of the photos on this blog were taken on the water, it is especially important to give the wildlife an extra-wide margin of personal space so as to not endanger them in any way by venturing too close. As much as I take special precautions to remain hidden from their view, including use of telephoto lenses and natural-cover hides, every once in a while the wildlife sees me. And every once in a while when that happens, the result is humorous, like the cygnet in the middle of today’s photo, staring straight at my camera. The other photos from that day’s series show the mother swan serenely ferrying her brood about the lake, but this one has that extra-extra something.

Thanks to Sue for her A Word A Week Challenge: Happy. The cygnet in the middle brought a big smile when I downloaded the photos from this session.

Thanks once again to Stewart Monckton for hosting the Wild Bird Wednesday challenge.

Thanks to Wordless Wednesday for the Wordless Wednesday challenge.

.
.

A selection of my heron and flower photos is now available at the Five Crows Gallery in Natick, MA. Drop in and see the work of the many wonderfully creative artists who show there when you’re in the area.

Five Crows is on FaceBook. To give the gallery a visit, please click here.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

The Tao of Feathers™

© 2014 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Mute Swan, Kayaking

Posted on June 17, 2014, in Art, Audubon, Humor, Kayaking, Mute Swan, Nature, Parenting, Photography, Photography challenge, postaday, Weekly Photo Challenge, Wild Bird Wednesday, Wildlife Photography, Wordless Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 35 Comments.

  1. Love those beautiful baby swans!

  2. Absolutely adore every swan photo. The les petit cygnets are beyond precious.

  3. I’m pretty certain my eagle’s are aware of my car (used as a blind), but hopefully with a road, a meadow and a river between us, they’re not overly concerned. LOVED the cygnet checking you out though.

    • I think the eagles consider you part of their environment by now, and your presence wasn’t so obvious (if at all) during the critical nesting/breeding stages initially, so it’s all good. Glad you like the funny cygnet, many thanks as always for your thoughtful comment. I enjoy sharing our bird posts together.

  4. I have been riding the MIssissippi River the past few months and watching the little “geese” growing up from a bundle of feather, so soft! They get larger very quickly! This is a great shot, and just like they are on the river here,, but these guys actually appear to be bashful…our little guys lay on the bike path and their mothers worry:-) lol…sweet and precious:-)

    • Robbie, glad to hear you’re back riding along the Mississippi, how fun, even if the mother birds worry about the bashful chicks on the path. Glad you liked this one, thanks.

      • I am still looking for the family of Blue Heron on my ride. I will let you know when I come across them this summer. There use to be about 25 in one section along the river, but have not seen only a few…I am concerned:-(…I’ll keep you posted:-)

        • Thanks, Robbie. if there are bald eagles in the area, the GBH population may have moved to a new, safer home location. Also, usually the GBH numbers we can actually see out and about increase once the chicks have fledged, late July, early to mid-August here. Until then, one of the adults is usually spending lots of time at the nest. Even here, I am not seeing large numbers of herons, as it is still early. Fingers crossed for your herons there!

  5. That is a great shot you captured just as he was looking straight at the camera. so cute.

    • Hi Margaret, thanks for your kind comment. I got lucky and snapped the photo just as he turned his head. Some days are luckier than others.

  6. Cute capture of the swan family. The one baby does have a surprised look.

  7. That is a nice picture!

  8. Wonderful image. Yes, the baby does have a wonderful look on his cute little face.

  9. Love seeing the babies!

  10. Love this one, Babs! I don’t get to my Reader or many of the challenges these days, so I catch up with people wherever I can. Many thanks for your visit. 🙂

    • Many thanks, Jo, I’m so glad you like this one, and I’m in the same boat lately about infrequently checking my reader lately. Speaking of boats, I loved your post about the fabric art on display at Hartlepool. Wonderful photos there!

  11. Wonderful! What an adorable shot. Oh, and I love the motto!

  12. Nothing more magical than a Mute Swan…..plus babies!

  13. That’s a great look especially with others looking elsewhere.

  14. The original ugly ducking I believe! Nice shot.

    Cheers – Stewart M – Melbourne

    • Many thanks for your kind comment, Stewart. I understand that Australia has black swans. That must be something to see. I have only ever seen one in the wild here.

Leave a Reply

