Summertime is Falling Down

They get the urge for going
When the meadow grass is turning brown
Summertime is falling down and winter is closing in.

Joni Mitchell
Urge for Going (excerpt)

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

And so the migration begins.

.
.

This week’s photo challenge is nighttime. Thanks to Ben Huberman and WordPress for this topic.

Thanks once again to Stewart Monckton for hosting the Wild Bird Wednesday challenge.

Thanks to the kind folks at Wordless Wednesday for the Wordless Wednesday challenge.
.
.

A selection of my heron and flower photos is now available at the Five Crows Gallery in Natick, MA. Drop in and see the work of the many wonderfully creative artists who show there when you’re in the area.

Five Crows is on FaceBook. To give the gallery a visit, please click here.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

The Tao of Feathers™

© 2014 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great Blue Heron, Kayaking

Posted on September 30, 2014, in ardea herodias, Art, Audubon, Birds, Great Blue Heron, Kayaking, Nature, Photography, Photography challenge, postaday, Weekly Photo Challenge, Wild Bird Wednesday, Wildlife Photography, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. I am sad to see them leave, though I know it is what they must do….

    • Yes, it IS poignant, isn’t it? I love watching the geese practice their take offs and landings, as the new crop of baby geese prepare for their first migration, but then suddenly they are all gone, and the lake seems a little emptier for their departing. Thanks for your thoughtful comment, glad you liked this photo.

  2. Beautiful shot! A lot if not most birds have left us already. I can’t wait for them to return next spring. 🙂

    • Hi Gunilla – So glad you like this photo, thank you for your kind comment. Watching both the fall and spring migrations is something to soo, isn’t it?

  3. This must be a wonderful sight to see although sad to see them go. They will be back.

  4. Lovely photo, Babsje. This time of year has a very special resonance, doesn’t it. Also I like the stillness of the heron, and the flurry of geese activity behind.

    • Many thanks for your thoughtful words, Tish. I agree with you – there is something a bit magical about autumn, the way Nature prepares and preserves herself. Glad you like this one.

  5. Beautiful shot! It is sad to see the birds migrating… Have a great day.

    • Hi Eileen – Glad you like it! Thanks for your kind comment here. This moment was more magical than dad to behold. The migrating birds flew in and out by the scored that evening. Both the heron and I stood stock still, watching, for a long time.

  6. I tend to look at things leaving in a different way – what it means, is that the world is still working. It’s when they don’t leave that we have a real problem.

    Cheers – Stewart M – Melbourne

    • Hi Stewart – I agree, migration does indeed mean things are working as they should. Here, some Great Blue Herons winter over, as do some Robins, which are usually our harbingers of spring. I am not sure what drives some specific individuals to stay while the others depart, but year after year, they do. Fascinating. Thanks for visiting and your thoughtful comment.

  7. Great action shot. These are really cool birds. We see them every so often here where I live.

  8. I have been outside for most of the summer + missed stopping by my favorite blogs. Thought of you the other day, I saw herons on the river + I had a question for you. I meant to stop by earlier and ask but I do get distracted. Whey do I see them alone most often? I use to see them in groups years ago, but not lately. Need to look around:-)

    • Hi Robbie – so glad you like this one. I have been in the same boat, myself, outdoors and away from the blogs. I had a feast yesterday, getting caught up on your blog. You have had some powerful posts recenty! Great Blue Herons are solitary creatures. The exceptions are that they often breed together in colonies, so it is possible that the herons you saw in years past were from the colony, but now the colony has moved on to a new location? Herons are solitary feeders, and sometimes their feeding grounds are as much as 2 miles from nesting grounds in the colony. Also, female adults often share their feeding areas with their fledgling young. The adult males? Not so much.

      • Thank you! I am glad to know they are not alone because they are rejected. That is interesting about the colonies.The place I saw them about 5 years ago is near the bike path. I figure as more bikers used the path they have moved on for there were too many humans. I also ride on the back trails behind the river + I see more of them tucked back there in the back waters. Good to know, now I won’t worry! I will be inside more now that winter is approaching:-)

        • I think you’re right! I remember you mentioning that the number of GBH you were seeing this year had dropped off, and we were concerned they had moved. So, no worries – they are not alone because of being rejected. They are generally solitary, except in breeding times. Glad you are seeing them now! And speaking of winter, we may get snow this weekend. Stay warm!

  1. Pingback: Great Blue Heron Photos of the Year | Babsje Heron

Leave a Reply

