Dream a Little Dream

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great Blue Heron in the rain.


.

This week’s photo challenge is dreamy. Someone once remarked to me that, with the amount of time I spend out on the water with the Great Blue Herons, I must dream about them. Indeed I do. Heron dreams are delightful. And if I dream about the herons, do they dream about me? Not likely. According to researchers, birds do dream – most likely about singing (and not about that avid photographer in her blue boat). Thanks to Michelle W and WordPress for this topic.

Thanks once again to Stewart Monckton for hosting the Wild Bird Wednesday challenge.

Thanks to the kind folks at Wordless Wednesday for the Wordless Wednesday challenge.
.
.

A selection of my heron and flower photos is now available at the Five Crows Gallery in Natick, MA. Drop in and see the work of the many wonderfully creative artists who show there when you’re in the area.

Five Crows is on FaceBook. To give the gallery a visit, please click here.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

The Tao of Feathers™

© 2014 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great Blue Heron, Kayaking

Posted on October 15, 2014, in ardea herodias, Art, Audubon, Birds, Great Blue Heron, Kayaking, Nature, Photography, Photography challenge, postaday, Weekly Photo Challenge, Wild Bird Wednesday, Wildlife Photography, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. How birds find comfort in some of these poses is beyond me. I’ve a parrot and sometimes I can only stare and wonder.
    Beautiful capture.

    • Hi John – I agree, the birds can be such contortionists, yet they make it look effortless, don’t they? Parrots are delightful birds, so intelligent. I wonder – does your parrot have a well-developed sense of smell? It must, after being exposed to the dishes you serve on your blog. There have been times your posts have left my mouth watering just from reading the recipes. I’m glad you like this heron photo – thanks for your kind words.

  2. I have a few ‘takes’ before I could see how the bird was standing. Amazing.

  3. I want to dream of herons now! I clearly need to do more bird watching. And thank you for the link to the bird’s dreaming story, so interesting.

    • Heron dreams are special ones, maybe you will dream about them someday, too. Glad you liked the bird dreaming article, I thought it was fascinating. Thanks for your kind comment here.

  4. Their colour is amazing …. but, that pose takes the cake…. wow……

    • Many thanks, I’m glad you noticed the color. It is said that there really is no such thing as a truly “blue” feather, that the color blue is an artifact of light refracting on the fewther’s structure. And yeah – that heron’s pose would be a challenge for many yoga practitioners to copy. Glad you like this one.

  5. Cute post! I do enjoy seeing the GB Herons.. Enjoy your week!

  6. I never thought about birds dreaming…interesting. Lovely heron in your photo.

    • Hi Marie – its fascinating that they dream, isn’t it? I learned some things reading that study, myself. I’m gold you like this heron. Thanks for visiting and commenting again!

  7. I wonder if that Heron is dreaming about you?

Leave a Reply

