Great Blue Heron Photos of the Year

Frequent visitors here know that my photos are a mixed bag in terms of genre – some have more artistic merit than others, and some are quirky and just for fun. Some are personal anecdotes of encounters in my kayak, and some the field notes of a naturalist. One thing they all have in common, though, is they’re wild creatures observed in nature along the waterways of Eastern Massachusetts.

Coming up on the horizon in a few months is my next one-woman photography show, comprised of 35 photos. For the most part in the past, pieces I’ve included in the galleries are different than the ones I post online, selections made in a vacuum, by myself.

As a new approach for 2015, I’m reaching out to readers here for your input, for your votes on which of the 2014 posts you like the most.

So, after the photos posted here, there’s a poll where you can let me know which are your favorites.

I do hope you participate, and I’m looking forward to seeing your responses.

Wishing peace, prosperity, and creativity to all in 2015!

.
.

.
.

Thanks to Michelle W and WordPress for the Weekly Photo Challenge: New. Soliciting the opinions of others about which photos to include in the upcoming show is a new approach for me. Like many artists and writers, I’m often surprised by what resonates with people. Looking forward to being surprised by the poll results here!

.
.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

The Tao of Feathers™

© 2015 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

A selection of my heron and flower photos is now available at the Five Crows Gallery in Natick, MA. Drop in and see the work of the many wonderfully creative artists who show there when you’re in the area.

Five Crows is on FaceBook. To give the gallery a visit, please click here.

Great Blue Heron, Egret, Kayaking, Photography

Posted on January 3, 2015, in ardea herodias, Art, Audubon, Birds, Egret, Great Blue Heron, Nature, Nature Photography, Photo Essay, Photography, Photography challenge, postaday, Weekly Photo Challenge, Wildlife Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Foe me, that is the top 7 shots I like. Hope that helps you.

  2. What a difficult choice. I loved #2, a very apt visual for the juxtapostion theme, although it was a tough call between that the the fear of owls 101, and the final bonus bird. Will you let us know the poll results?

  3. Beautiful review, Babsje. I love the feathers and the graceful flight captures. Happy New Year!

    • Hi Jane – Happy New Yesr to you, too, and many thanks for your kind comment – I’m delighted that you like those particular photos! Best, Babsje

  4. Quite the year Babsje! I didn’t actually vote but my favorites are the birds in flight. So beautiful and very difficult to capture without shadows. You did a great job. I too featured ONE photo of a great blue this week – stop by for a look! Happy New Year to you!

    • Hi Tina – Many thanks for your kind words, and for pointing me in the direction of your GBH this week. I especially liked your “boats in blue” from your own 2014 review! Happy New year to you and yours, too. best, Babsje

  5. Remarkable photos, Babsje! You’re an amazing photographer and that fact that the great blue is my 2nd favorite avian (raven is my fave) is a bonus. Thanks for a visually enchanting year and all the best in 2015.

    • Hi Susanissima – I’m so glad you like the Great Blue Herons as your second favorite bird. Ravens are pretty awesome, too. I saw my first ever only last year, and then the same Raven with its mate just two weeks ago, they look and sound awesome. Thanks so much for your very kind comments. Best, Babsje

  6. #4 tops them all, IMO! HNY. RH

    • Hi RH – isn’t that wing extension something? When I was there in my kayak that day, I was stunned when she started that extension straight back like that – it kept unfurling and stretching so long and so far it took my breath away right there. Having the photo come out was icing on the cake. Many thanks for your kind words, and Happy New Year to you, too. Best, Babsje

  7. I really loved the one of him in the rain. he looks so bedraggled. 🙂

  8. Babsje, While all of your photos demonstrate your careful attention to the world, I see some things in this selection that deserve more than a vote. I find #2 particularly moving–the shadows of chain link cast over a living being. I cannot help but think of refugees from the war in Syria, the tension between captivity and freedom. I love #14 for its whimsy and again the tension between the windblown hackles and the controlled feathers of flight. #16 reminds me that the best photos are about interaction, here between the heron and the unseen threat to its territory. I love the humor in #s 10 and 17. I also admire your ability to sense the relationship between the conscious living being of the heron and the inanimate and constructed world of the stone bridge, as in #s 6 and 8. Thank you for sharing these remarkable images with us.

    • Hi Gary – Thank you so much for your generous comments about the Heron photos, I’m moved by your eloquent articulation of what the photos are saying to you, especially the tension between captivity and freedom you mention in regards to number 2. That one, to me, also had an element of beauty in the shadow of the face of ugliness, ie, the chain link fence. And I’m also glad that you saw whimsy and humor in the photos. Life is too short to forgo humor, IMO. I genuinely appreciate the sincerity of your observations – that means a lot to me. Many hanks. Best, Babsje

Leave a Reply

