Quirky Artist Stories Nbr 6: Be Still My Heart

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great Blue Heron South Lake B+W

Coming soon to a lake nearby?

A girl can dream.

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Tsunami Kayak at the Lake in Winter of 2015

When last I visited the lake, Ol Blue was snug in her winter cave, nearly buried beneath some of the 109 inches of snow that fell this season. Despite the stumbling trek over nearly four feet of snow blanketing the shore, it was heartening to see her label “Tsunami” peeking through that slash of an opening, as she hibernated within.

It was March 1st, and by any rights the two of us would be back on the water in a mere 30 days.

Or so I thought.

The snows of February extended well into March, with the lakes still frozen into the start of April. Even now, some mounds of snow border the sidewalks, yet the waves of migrating birds seem undeterred, as Nature awakens all around.

Including the Great Blue Heron I saw foraging in the small retaining pond last week.

Especially including that Great Blue Heron.

Be still my heart.

.
.

This week’s photo challenge is Afloat. Thanks to Krista and WordPress for this topic. Soon, Ol Blue and I will be afloat on the lake. With the herons. Be still my heart.

Thanks also to Leanne Cole and Laura Mackey for hosting the Monochrome Madness challenge. It’s worth visiting Leanne and Laura’s challenge page to see other outstanding interpretations of monochromatic photography.
.
.
.

A selection of my heron and flower photos is now available at the Five Crows Gallery in Natick, MA. Drop in and see the work of the many wonderfully creative artists who show there when you’re in the area.

Five Crows is on FaceBook. To give the gallery a visit, please click here.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

The Tao of Feathers™

© 2015 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great Blue Heron, Kayaking

Posted on April 12, 2015, in Art, Kayaking, Monochrome Madness Challenge, Monochrome Monday, Nature, Nature Photography, Patience, Photography, Photography challenge, Photos, postaday, Weekly Photo Challenge, Wildlife Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. You’ve had a really rough winter. I suspect the spring thaw will be doubly appreciated.

    • Indeed, much appreciated, so much so that a friend was elated at the advent of “mud season.” I’m sure you remember the joys of mud season from your years here. Glad you liked this one, thanks!

    • Indeed, but we have survived the winter, and more than time to get back out on the water. I’m glad you like this one, thanks for commenting.

  2. Love the Art and hope your. Snow melts soon and you do not get flooding.

    • Hi Margaret – Thank you! I’m so glad you like this one, and not only did we not get any flooding here, there is a bit of a drought already – quite early in the season for that. Odd to be mentioning a drought after we had 108+ inches of snow this winter!

  3. Babsje, Isn’t it interesting how we check on our boats as though they were living things? I hope the two of you will soon be reunited. Also, thanks for including the black and white image. So much in the world of color I am often startled by the way black and white images reveal shape and form. This is especially apparent in this case. Thanks for the reminder.

    • Hi Gary – Many thanks for your thoughtful comment and observations. I hope to be back on the water after this week! Not a moment too soon. I am wrapping up my one-woman photography show next weekend and then back to the usual haunts on the lake. Best, Babsje

  4. How I wish I could send you some warm weather to hasten the thaw and get you back on the water! I thought of you last week each time I saw a GBH while paddling in Florida on my Spring Break. Sending warm thoughts and looking forward to this year’s photos.

  5. I love your monochrome heron, Babsje.

  6. The first image is so striking. It also has an abstract quality in the tension captured. In anthropomorphised terms it says striving to me. Very interesting. I’m catching up here. For some reason your posts don’t appear in my reader, even though I’m following you.

    • Hi Tish, thanks for your kind words. I like your “anthropormorphized” interpretation, and can agree with you. Thanks for letting me know I’m not appearing in your reader – will have to follow up about that. Best, Babsje

Leave a Reply

