Quirky Artist Stories Nbr 9: One-woman photography show at TCAN thru July 30

Life spreads itself across
the ceiling to make you think
you are penned in, but that
is just another gift. Life takes
what you thought you couldn’t live
without and gives you a heron instead.

On the Meaning of (excerpt)
Linda Back McKay

The Next Best Thing: Poems

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great Blue Fledgling Sticks His Landing

From July 1 through July 30, 2016, my Great Blue Heron photographs once again grace the walls of the lobby and theater in a free one-woman show at the Summer Street Gallery, of The Center for Arts in Natick.

Since 2001, the Center for Arts Natick has been housed in the circa 1875 historic Central Fire House, where the Summer Street Gallery provides an opportunity for accomplished visual artists in the region to have their work prominently displayed for TCAN’s diverse and loyal audience.

Now, 141 years after the Firehouse was first constructed in 1875, “TCAN: Arts Center for the Next Generation” is installing an intimate new venue on the second floor of the historic firehouse for concerts, movies, and events, with new professional gallery space for the visual arts. Information about the building upgrade and Kickstarter campaign can be found here.

If you’re in the Boston or Metro West area, please stop by to see the Great Blue Herons. Many of the photos in the exhibit are being shown for the first time, and do not appear on the blog. As always, many of the photos were taken from the seat of my kayak on the lake.

The gallery is open whenever the box office is open, so please check hours here.

And who knows, maybe I’ll see you there one day.

I’d like that.

.
.

A selection of my heron and flower photos is now available at the Five Crows Gallery in Natick, MA. Drop in and see the work of the many wonderfully creative artists who show there when you’re in the area.

Five Crows is on FaceBook. To give the gallery a visit, please click here.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

The Tao of Feathers™

© 2016 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great Blue Heron, TCAN, Summer Street Gallery, Kayaking

Posted on July 8, 2016, in ardea herodias, Art, Audubon, Fine art, Great Blue Heron, Kayaking, Nature Photography, Photography, Photography challenge, postaday, Weekly Photo Challenge, Wildlife Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I would certainly stop if were in the area! The one you shared is stunning!

    • Thanks so much for your kind words, I’m glad you like this fledgling Great Blue. I took that photo on an unseasonably warm Halloween and was surprised to see him that day. He’s one of my favorites. Best, Babsje

  2. But I know I will not be in your area hello I would love to go and see your Heron photographs this one you showed us today is stunning

    • Hi Margaret – Many thanks for your kind comments. I’m happy to hear that you like this fledgling Great Blue Heron photo. It was exciting to see him take the leap and make such a solid and graceful landing on the rock. I understand what you say about not being in the area to visit the gallery. Aren’t we fortunate that these blogs are the next best thing for sharing? Best, Babsje

  3. I still love that picture! And that poem excerpt…..love that so much !

    • Hi Judy – Many thanks for your kind words. That poem blows me away every time. I’m glad you like that fledgling Blue nailing his landing. I decided to include him in my current show. And speaking of being blown away, your own recent Wood Stork images are outstanding, truly! Best, Babsje

  4. Dear Babsje, thanks for being the heron in our lives that is much better than all the things we thought we could not do without. I am always grateful to see proof of your perceptions and sometimes regret living almost 3000 miles from the gallery where your work is on display.

    • Hi Gary – Thank you ror your generous comment and kind support. I have been belatedly appreciating your own blog’s recent essays about the ways you experience kayaking your lake there. As far as your being 3000 miles from the gallery – maybe we can find me a gallery in Montana? Best, Babsje

  5. How wonderful! Many congratulations to you. Wish I could visit to see your photos on display. The one you posted above is gorgeous (as are all I have seen on here)!

  6. Congratulations Babsje! Terrific image and I am sure the show will be a fabulous success. Enjoy the moment.

    • Bi Jane – Thanks so much for your kind comments. It’s an honor to have been invited back by TCAN for a third one-woman show. The Center for Arts Natick is a special place near and dear to my heart
      Best, Babsje

  7. Sounds like a wonderful venue for you and other artists & events. Congrats on your show.

    • Hi Deb. Thanks so much for your kind words. I’m fortunate to have been invited back for my third show there. Also, I really love your photos of the blooms in the National Park today! Best, Babsje

    • Many tha thanks for your kind comment in Dutch. While my name is Dutch, I don’t speak the language and had to get your words translated. A fun thing to do! Thanks again. And btw, I enjoy your blog very much. Best, Babsje

Leave a Reply

