Hawks Saturday Bath – Part 1 Redux

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Two Red Tailed Hawks – babsjeheron

What, you were maybe expecting Great Blue Herons today?
It’s Saturday night bath time!

Rounding the corner coming out of the channel, a flash of movement to the left caught my eye. Raising binoculars, I discovered it wasn’t the Canada Goose I had expected to see. It was a Red Tailed Hawk about to launch in to the lake for a cooling bath. Thrilling. Only once before – years ago – had I seen a Hawk bathing, and here, at nearly the same spot along the shore, was another.

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Two Red Tailed Hawks Bathing – babsjeheron

Just as I swung my camera into position, another flash of feathers. Two. There were TWO Red Tailed Hawks splashing into the lake together, bathing together while cacophonous Blue Jays and Grackles pestered from branches above.

Compare the mood of the two Red Tailed Hawks in the top photo with that in the left photo. Do you see the change, from excited animation when first landing in the water to affectionate nuzzling, as the hawks bathe together side-by-side, touching their beaks.

Hawks are very territorial, and this pair owns that piece of shoreline, although the Blue Jays who also nest in the thick stand of trees would beg to differ. The Hawks bathed in silence, seemingly oblivious to the raucous chattering from the Jays that flitted from branch to branch above them. My practice is to keep hidden from the wildlife I photograph, and if the Hawks were aware of me, they didn’t let on.

Two Red Tail Hawks Bathtime fanned tail – babsjeheron

The pair frolicked close to the shore there, dunking underneath a few times, then surfacing and shaking off the water droplets from time to time. They remained very close together the entire time, almost constantly touching. It was July, which is not traditionally mating season for Red Tails here, and so their closeness surprised me. At one point their dance involved fanning out the beautiful red tails in display.

Red Tail Hawk Bathtime – babsjeheron

For a finale, they both ducked their heads below the surface and pointed tails skyward. They reminded me of synchronized swimmers. I have never seen wild birds so closely match their movements, as though engaged in a perfectly choreographed ballet.

Red Tail Hawk After Bath Time - babsjeheron   © 2023 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Red Tail Hawk After Bath Time – babsjeheron

At the end, the male Hawk flew up into the trees and spent a long time there, preening and fluffing out and drying his feathers. The female remained in the water for a little while longer before she, too, flew off to get dry.

I paddled on back to the boathouse a very satisfied photographer. It had been an amazing day.

.

.
.

.

.

About today’s post: Today’s post is prompted by Debbie Smyth’s Six on Saturday, I.J.’s Bird of the Week, Jez’s Water Water Everywhere, the Lens Artists Art in the Park challenge, and Fandango’s Flashback Friday.

.
.

Because of my near-blindness, I’m not able to link in my posts to the various host sites for WP challenges/tags in the way I have always done in the past, but please know that I value the sense of community here, especially among the Lens Artists, Cee Neuner, Debbie Smyth, Leanne Cole, BeckyB, Denzil, I.J., Restless Jo, Tofino Photography, Dan Antion, Terri Webster Schrandt, Bush Boy, Jez, Fandango, and so many more, who all encourage the entire international network of photographers and writers. Sorry that I cannot link directly at this time – this is the best I can do for now.
.
.
.
.

MASS Audubon One-Woman Show July 2009 - babsjeheron © 2021 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Audubon One-Woman Show -babsjeheron

Mass Audubon July 2009 Nbr 2 - babsjeheron © 2021 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Audubon One-Woman Show Lobby – babsjeheron

TCAN One-Woman Show January thru February 26 2022 Lobby Wall With TCAN Reflection © 2022 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

TCAN One-Woman Show January through February 2022 Lobby Wall With TCAN Sign Reflected; TCAN Stained glass art by Carol Krentzman, framed by Jay Ball

My Great Blue Heron photographs were once again on display on the walls of the lobby and theater in a free one-woman show at the Summer Street Gallery, of The Center for Arts in Natick. The Summer Street Gallery provides an opportunity for accomplished visual artists in the region to have their work prominently displayed for TCAN’s diverse and loyal audience. If you’re in the Boston area, please stop by TCAN to see the wonderful gallery displays of artworks by many talented visual artists, as well as excellent live music performances and stage plays. The gallery is open whenever the box office is open, so please check hours here..

.

Natick Artists Sidewalk Chalk

.

Art In The Park 2023

.

Art in the Park 2023 is coming: June 11 at Shaw Park!
Watch this space.

.
.
As always, many of my own photos were taken on the waterways of the Charles River watershed.
.
.

Natick Center Cultural District logo

Natick Center Cultural District logo

Folks, now that some areas have opened back up in a new normal, please consider supporting your local Arts communities – whether music, theater, crafts, visual arts venues, and others. All have been impacted over the past THREE years and they still need your love more than ever.

.

The Natick Center Cultural District is situated in a friendly, classic New England town hosting a vibrant, contemporary fusion of art, culture and business. Click here and here to learn more!

.
.

My brick & mortar presence in Massachusetts dates back to 2009 in several local venues/galleries.

TCAN – The Center for Arts Natick:

  • January thru February 2022 – One-woman photography show
  • December 2019 thru January 2020 – One-woman photography show
  • May, June, July 2018 – One-woman photography show
  • July 2016 – One-woman photography show
  • March 2016 – One-woman photography show
  • May 2015 – One-woman photography show

Natick Town Hall:

  • July 2022 to January 2023 – Group exhibit
  • January thru June 2022 – Group exhibit
  • September thru october 2018 – One-woman photography show

Five Crows Gallery in Natick – Represented since 2013
.
Audubon Sanctuary:

  • July 2009 – One-woman photography show

.

Be a fly on the wall! Please CLICK HERE to see the Great Blue Herons gracing the gallery walls.
.

.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

May the Muse be with you.™

The Tao of Feathers™

A Patience of Herons™

© 2003-2023 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Share the love, but please respect the copyright. No reposting of any photos without permission.

Great Blue Heron, Kayaking, TCAN, Five Crows, Natick Center Cultural District, Red Tail Hawk

Posted on May 27, 2023, in # Lens-Artists, ardea herodias, Birds, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Wildlife Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 49 Comments.

  1. Babsje, understandably, I loved this post when I first saw it. This time I am struck by the way you captured the tenderness these fierce creatures show each other. Thanks again. G

    • Many thanks, Gary. I like your choice of words in describing the Hawks: “fierce creatures.” Yes, they can be fierce, and yet affectionate and tender, too. Feel free to send this post to other members of your Hawk family, too!

  2. I love the action photos from the bath.

    • Hi Dan – thanks so much for your kind comment. This was one of those occasions where I thought a video would have been the way to go, but at the end of the day I think it would have missed the subtle interactions between the two lovebirds?

  3. Love the first pic. Testing the water, dipping their toes. Looks like a reluctance to get their “pants” wet. Raptors are my faves!

    • Love how you put it, Susan – testing the water with their toes, not wanting to get their pants wet! Ah, you know these Hawks well. Thanks for the great comment.

  4. Aren’t they magnificent!!

  5. What amazing photos you capture! Whenever I get disillusioned with world events and sometimes local ones, I find that going outside and just observing the acre or so around me brings back a peace and an amazement at the intricacies and beauties of nature. No more beautiful ballet has ever been staged. Do you still kayak? I haven’t for years…

    • Thanks for your generous compliment and comments, Judy. I’m glad you appreciate the birds and imagine there are so many beauties there for you in Mexico, along with your lush flowers. You should try kayaking again if the opportunity presents itself? I find it a meditation unlike any others, floating serenely amidst the Herons and Hawks and Egrets. I’m sure you have those and many more colorful birds in your area. World events? I hear you. I check one major news site first thing in the morning to make sure we’re not being attacked (again), and then segue into pretty photos and essays from WordPress with breakfast. Thanks again.

      • I am so deluged by bad news, accompanied by requests for money that if I contribute, is followed by an immediate request for me to pledge even more to the exact same cause, then a dozen new ones, that I have started just deleting. The important news makes its way through, but the constant barrage got me so depressed and confused… as I can’t find my real messages from friends in the crush. I wonder how many people feel the same way? And how it affects our knowledge of what is going on? Sometimes it feels like A Clockwork Orange.

        • I hear you and feel that same pain. World events are a dumpster fire. Fortunately I stopped donating to everything from email entreaties, but two household name non-profits just will not stop. Your Clockwork Orange analogy fits so well! Thanks for the thoughtful observations.

  6. What a gorgeous sight to see!

  7. I love how you capture the story of our winged friends Babsje. There is so much to learn from their interactions.

  8. Maybe the kids had fledged and they finally had some time to themselves! 😉 beautiful photos. Thank you!!!

    • H Martha. Sorry for the delay, but in its infinite wisdom this comment ended up in my spam folder. Anyway you win the internet with your clever adaptation of the “empty nest” syndrome – a literal empty nest

  9. I’ve never seen Redtail’s bathing before Babsje,how lucky of you!
    Did they leave film on the water like the Blues?

    • Hi Wayne, thanks so much, it was a thrilling session out there. To answer your question about whether there was any powder down residue on the water surface after their bath? I *think* so but I need to look at the original images when I’m able to fire up the laptop to be certain. Great question, thanks.

  10. The hawks clearly enjoyed the cool water, great captures of this special moment.

    • Hi Rudi – I’m pleased that you enjoyed the bathing Red Tail Hawks and I’m sure you’re right that the cool water felt good to them. All the while they were hanging out in the water, a pair of resident Blue Jays was in the tree canopy right above them, trying to pester them mercilessly. But that annoyance just rolled off the Hawks! Fascinating.

  11. I love hawks, too. And you sure are quick with a camera! I envy that.

    • Thanks very much, Suzanne’s mom. It was a special encounter and I’m grateful to have been in the right place at the right time WITH a camera. You can’t plan in advance for something that elusive!

  12. Songbirds bathing at a birdbath? Of course. Herons and other waterbirds bathing? Sure? Hawks? I somehow never would have expected that! Instead of rubber duckies for bathtub toys, we could give kids rubber hawks, rubber robins, rubber ibis — what a learning experience!

  13. What fabulous photos babsje!
    Look at those hawks, peacefully passing the day.

  14. I loved your last heron bathing post but this one is fantastic!! Look at their fluffy pantaloons! Fantastic shots and congratulations on your art display.

  15. You’re branching out. Ha. Good for you. Photos are amazing.

  16. Every photograph has a story

  17. Lucky you, to see two!

Leave a comment