Visiting Masterpiece Redux (Quirky Artist Stories Nbr 21)

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great blue heron walking along the shore.

Whoever said the internet would replace art galleries and museums?

One cold and snowy weekend some years back, I went to the Museum of Fine Arts here in Boston to see the Goya Exhibit courtesy of tickets from my friend, Margie. While the Goya show was superb, the Art by Monet, Gauguin, O’Keefe, and Matisse brought goosebumps as always.

What moved me most, though, was a visiting Gustav Klimt masterpiece, “Adam and Eve.” At the time of Klimt’s death, Eve’s hands had not yet been painted, with just the barest of outlines hinting at the apple she would have grasped. Left unfinished, the painting evoked a palpable poignancy – it seemed as though the artist had merely put down his brushes and stepped away for a few minutes, instead of for eternity.

The gallery was very crowded that day, with a 50 minute wait for people standing in line. As my friend Naomi remarked, “Whoever said the internet would replace art galleries and museums? Look at all these people.”

She’s right, you know. The vast array of art available online transforms where and how we experience art and artists. In retrospect, my own art history coursework back in the days of those boxed sets of prints feels meager in light of the riches available today at the click of a button.

Gustav Klimt Adam and Eve - Detail

Gustav Klimt Adam and Eve – Detail

And yet, there is nothing like standing in front of the actual piece of art, an arm’s length from a canvas and realizing the artist was also at one time the same arm’s length from the same canvas, but with brush in hand, bringing a vision to life.

Looking closely at Eve’s unfinished arms from only a foot away brought the painting into a very human realm where I could almost see Klimt standing were I stood, calculating the placement and shape of the missing apple, the colors and brushes he would use.

I’m glad they left it unfinished instead of having an apprentice complete the piece.

On a cold snowy day or a sultry steamy afternoon, where better to spend it than in a gallery?

.
.
.
.
Bonus: In a nod to the Lens Artists challenge from Dawn Miller and as an antidote to the exceedingly hot weather:

Front Gate in Snow - babsjeheron © 2023 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Front Gate on a Dark & Snowy Day – babsjeheron

.

About today’s post: Special thanks to my friend Margie for the VIP tickets to the MFA!

For a photographer who can’t paint her way out of a paper bag, as the expression goes, I’ve expressed a lot of my thinking around “paintings” in this post, and so the lead photo in this post is one of my more painterly photos.

Today’s post is prompted by Debbie Smyth’s One Word Sunday – Empty (https://travelwithintent.com/2023/07/22/empty-2/), I.J.’s Bird of the Week, and The Lens Artists “Fences” Challenge.

.
.

Because of my near-blindness, I’m not able to link in my posts to the various host sites for WP challenges/tags in the way I have always done in the past, but please know that I value the sense of community here, especially among the Lens Artists, Debbie Smyth, Leanne Cole, BeckyB, I.J., Restless Jo, Tofino Photography, Dan Antion, Terri Webster Schrandt, Bush Boy, Jez, Fandango, and so many more, who all encourage the entire international network of photographers and writers. Sorry that I cannot link directly at this time – this is the best I can do for now.
.
.

Great Blue Herons at TCAN Lobby January & February 2022 - babsjeheron © 2022 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great Blue Herons at TCAN Lobby – babsjeheron

TCAN One-Woman Show May 2018 Lobby Wall © 2021 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

TCAN One-Woman Show Lobby Wall – babsjeheron

TCAN One-Woman Show January thru February 26 2022 Lobby Wall With TCAN Reflection © 2022 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

TCAN One-Woman Show January through February 2022 Lobby Wall With TCAN Sign Reflected; TCAN Stained glass art by Carol Krentzman, framed by Jay Ball

My Great Blue Heron photographs were once again on display on the walls of the lobby and theater in a free one-woman show at the Summer Street Gallery, of The Center for Arts in Natick. The Summer Street Gallery provides an opportunity for accomplished visual artists in the region to have their work prominently displayed. Please stop by TCAN to see the wonderful gallery of artworks by many talented visual artists, as well as excellent live music performances and stage plays. The gallery is open whenever the box office is open, so please check hours here.

As always, many of my own photos were taken on the waterways of the Charles River watershed.

.

Natick Center Cultural District logo

Natick Center Cultural District logo

Folks, now that some areas have opened back up in a new normal, please consider supporting your local Arts communities – whether music, theater, crafts, visual arts venues, and others. All have been impacted over the past THREE years and they still need your love more than ever.
.
The Natick Center Cultural District is situated in a friendly, classic New England town hosting a vibrant, contemporary fusion of art, culture and business. Click here and here to learn more!

.

My brick & mortar presence in Massachusetts dates back to 2009 in several local venues/galleries.
.

Watch this space for my free 2023 one-woman show – Coming later this summer.
.

TCAN – The Center for Arts Natick:

  • January thru February 2022 – One-woman photography show
  • December 2019 thru January 2020 – One-woman photography show
  • May, June, July 2018 – One-woman photography show
  • July 2016 – One-woman photography show
  • March 2016 – One-woman photography show
  • May 2015 – One-woman photography show

Natick Town Hall:

  • July 2022 to January 2023 – Group exhibit
  • January thru June 2022 – Group exhibit
  • September thru october 2018 – One-woman photography show

Five Crows Gallery in Natick – Represented since 2013
.
Audubon Sanctuary:

  • July 2009 – One-woman photography show

.

Be a fly on the wall! Please CLICK HERE to see the Great Blue Herons gracing the gallery walls.
.

.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

May the Muse be with you.™

The Tao of Feathers™

A Patience of Herons™

© 2003-2023 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Share the love, but please respect the copyright. No reposting of any photos without permission.

Great Blue Heron, Klimt, Goya, MFA Boston, Kayaking, TCAN, Five Crows, Natick Center Cultural District

Posted on July 23, 2023, in # Lens-Artists, ardea herodias, Art, Birds, Mindfulness, Nature, Wildlife Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 65 Comments.

  1. A wonderful photo of a heron, as always! Klimt!!! Do you know that I live in Vienna? Lots of Klimt paintings here in the museums – and I rarely go. What a shame! My big resolution for the cold season: get out and go to the museum. As you write correctly: internet/book or standing in front of a picture and having the real thing at arm’s length in front of you are 2 pairs of shoes.

    • How fortunate you are to be in Vienna, with that abundance of museums and the Klimt paintings! Yes, do visit the museums when the weather turns cold. I love how you say this: “internet/book or standing in front of a picture and having the real thing at arm’s length in front of you are 2 pairs of shoes.” So true. And many thanks for your lovely compliment about the Heron photo.

  2. christinenovalarue

    🩵

  3. Love your photo, with the branch drawing the eye to the heron, and both against a shadowed background.

    It would have been blasphemy for an apprentice to “finish” a master’s work!

    • Hi Susan. I’m pleased that you like the way that branch draws the viewer’s eye to the Heron. Thanks for your kind compliment. And you’re right about apprentices completing the paintings of the masters! I think that in more than a few instances, apprentice artists have contributed to finished artworks in ways that have gone far beyond merely stretching canvas or applying primer coats!

  4. Great artistic thoughts Babsje!

  5. Your reflections and descriptions of your experience with the Klimt painting was beautiful. It reminded me of my experiences when I visited galleries and being within arms length of paintings that evoked emotion. For me, the Dali gallery was the most memorable, his paintings disturbed me in a way no other paintings had. On the other hand the Ringling Museum of Art evoked gentler feelings. I do enjoy experiencing art on the internet as well. Thank you for reminding me of how much art touches our lives. I hope you’re well. Have a lovely Sunday.

    • Many thanks for your thoughtful compliment Laura. II haven’t experienced any Dali paintings first-hand, but I know the Ringling Museum of Art very well – I went to college in Sarasota. That museum is lovely and the grounds are gorgeous. I hope you’re enjoying your weekend, too. Thanks.

  6. I haven’t been to a museum in decades. I’ve always found Nature to be the best natural museum to visit.

    • Thanks Wayne. Are there any museums near you? I was thinking this morning about Nature in the wild vs Nature in a Zoo, and the sadness that Zoo life often evokes, so I agree about Nature but there doesn’t seem to be a parallel between Nature and Museums, as I think about it.

      • the closest museum would be in Victoria,about a 6 hour drive.
        Another perk about Nature is no entry fee!

        • Yes, you’re somewhat correct – although there is a parking fee at my bigger lake – it is not free and there is the cost of equipment.

          The thing is, though, that Nature in the wild – despite how sublime it feels to be out there to partake – does not offer the same experience of Art that a museum or gallery offer.

          Where in wild Nature can you see The Mona Lisa? Birth of Venus? The Pieta? Venus de Milo? Nike of Samothrace? Michelangelo’s David? Rodin’s Thinker? Monet’s Water Lily masterpieces? The list goes on.

          There is exquisite beauty in your own photos of your Bald Eagle friends – but the average person is not in a position to experience in the wild the glorious flights that you capture in your photos. The average person is able to experience them, however, once-removed from wild Nature via your photos on your blog or prints.

          Limiting oneself to only wild Nature experiences leaves a large void when it comes to understanding and appreciating what man has created over the ages.

          Just my opinion.

  7. I will never forget walking into a room, I think at MOMA, and going about five feet along one wall before I realized that those nicely textured blobs of color were part of one of Monet’s Waterlilies!! It was obvious when I crossed the room and could look at it from a distance. Oh, wow!!

    • Oh wow for sure! I would love to see that sort of Monet exhibition on such a large scale in person. Thanks for your lovely comment that brought his Water Lilies to mind!

  8. Wonderful paintings. Especially the Adam and Eve and seems appropriate that she is half-handed and appleless.

    • I like how you’ve stated it: Eve is “half-handed and appleless!” That’s an interesting observation. Some sort of portent perhaps? A feminist slant for sure. Thanks for the thought-provoking comment, Judy!

  9. LOL for your closing snow image Babsje – what a brutal summer it’s been for so many. Your perspectives on the art are spot on.

    • Thanks so much for your lovely comment, Tina. I thought you and the Lens Artist team would get a kick out of my front yard fence in winter antidote. I bet it is even hotter and more humid in your neck of the woods than it is here. Remember how they used to call it “global warming” before they switched to “climate change?” I swear it is really global warming!

  10. The diagonal of the branch and the heron is perfect!
    So is your antidote to the heat!
    …and I couldn’t agree more with your thoughts about art.
    Hope you’re enjoying a beautiful Sunday.
    xoxo

  11. What a beautiful post. I haven’t been to a museum in some years and we have a lot of them near here where I live. One of the best ones we went to most recent was the Getty museum in LA. I appreciate art of all kinds. Your beautiful photo brings big smiles! 😀❤️

    • Hi Diana – I’m so pleased that you enjoyed this post, thanks for your generous comment! If you can spare the time, visiting one of your nearby museums might be an excellent excuse to escape the incredible heat these days – you’re fortunate to have many beauties in your area! Thanks again for visiting and commenting.

  12. Art is so different in person. I haven’t been to a gallery since before covid. It ‘s high time to go! Hope you are surviving this weird weather.
    -Julie

    • Yeah, Covid impacted so many activities. As is our current weather. The dog days of August have arrived far too early. I do not handle extreme heat gracefully at all. Hence that snowy image of the front fence in my post – a cooling reminder of things to come. Thanks for stopping by!

  13. Thanks for artistic and informative post. 😀

  14. I completely agree with your point about the power of original art to capture us in a way that art-on-a-screen can’t. Online art is especially useful when it comes to education, or the opportunity to ‘visit’ places that we’d otherwise never see: especially with the 360 degree views possible in places like the Sistine Chapel. But I’ll never forget the day I was walking through a post-Impressionist exhibit at the Houston Museum of Fine Arts, and glimpsed Mary Cassatt’s “Child in a Straw Hat. I stood in front of that for perhaps fifteen minutes, until friends dragged me away. I can be intrigued or interested in online paintings, but the kind of emotional response that ‘the real thing’ evokes can’t be duplicated.

    • Thanks so much for your thoughtful comment and sharing your anecdote about seeing that Mary Cassat painting at the Houston MFA. Cassat was an extraordinary artist. And online definitely has a huge role to play as you say, but the emotional impact of being present before the real thing is at an entirely different level!

  15. I’m with you 100% when it comes to seeing art in person. I like your story about the unfinished Klimt very much. A high point of visiting the Netherlands four years ago was seeing Vermeers and Rembrandts up close. There have been hundreds of moments like that in museums over the years…the experience is completely different from viewing images on line – but we’re lucky to have this resource AND museums and galleries. Your heron image is stunning – such a beautiful use of value, color, and framing.

    • Many thanks for your generous compliment about the Heron photograph – that location is a favorite spot for the Herons to forage in the cove – and for me to photograph them because of that leading branch. Your trip to see the Vermeers and Rembrandts must have been inspiring. And I agree that we are fortunate to have options for both online and in person art appreciation. When I studied Oriental Art back in college, there was nothing available to view nearby in person and online didn’t even exist, and very few books – just boxed sets of 5×7 prints. It was a real challenge. Thanks for the lovely comment.

      • I remember Art History classes with slide shows. 🙂 I bet studying Oriental art benefited you – it looks like it!
        Honestly, we almost didn’t go to the Rijksmuseum because we were concerned about crowds. We had to wait in line for tickets because there was a big Rembrandt show going on. But once we were inside it clear that it was absolutely worth it! The smaller museums we visited in Cologne and Antwerp were wonderful, too. Now I want to go back….
        😉

        • That big Rembrandt exhibit must have been awesome even with the crowds. Maybe you can go back sometime now that travel has reopened? Something to dream about And plan for on a rainy day. 😊 And oh yeah, the slide shows – I forgot about them. Funny family history story – my father was working on a PhD in Art History at the University of Pittsburgh, but not loving it. As he put it – what was he going to do, open an Art History Store? So he bailed with a master’s and lived happily ever after. Now I want to go to The Netherlands, but I can’t fly. I let the Herons do my flying instead.

          • That’s interesting about your father! He sounds like an interesting person with a sense of humor. When I got out of art school I couldn’t find a job at all. Many years later, I went back to school for a Master’s in Social Work – totally different but at least you can make a little bit of a living that way.

            • Thanks. And I don’t blame you for pivoting to Social Work because finding paying gigs in the Arts has been an uphill climb – and what is a Heronry but a social group with fascinating interpersonal dynamics?? My father took a bureaucratic government job and when he retired, he became an antiques dealer – so in a way he got his Art History store after all!

  16. Babsje, thanks for reprising this beautiful post from The Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. I find an unfinished painting like the one you feature, or perhaps Michelangelo’s sculpture of the slaves extremely moving. They seem like direct invitations to imagine and as reminders of all that we will leave unfinished in our own journeys. Thank you.

    • Hi Gary – I like your observation about the unfinished work being invitations to imagine and that we all will leave unfinished works behind. Thanks for your close reading and thoughtful comments!

  17. Total agreement, Babsje! I don’t go to them as often as I should but there are a couple of galleries here and there’s nothing like standing right in front of an artwork. I just wish I had the ability to create something as beautiful as Klimt, or your herons.

    • Hi Jo. Thanks for the kind words about the Herons. I think I won’t tell them you mentioned them in the same sentence as Klimt – we wouldn’t want that compliment to go to their heads! And about the museums in Portugal? If you ever tire of traipsing about the gorgeous countryside outside – not likely for sure – you could do a series traipsing about inside in the museums. I’d read your posts enthusiastically!

      • When my legs wear out, Babsje 😘❤️ in the not too distant future 🤣

        • Your legs wearing out? Nah, I don’t think that’s in the cards for you after all the miles and smiles they’ve helped you enjoy. Grateful that you’ve allowed me and your readers to traipse along. I’ll never see Portugal in person so please let your legs know their work isn’t done yet. 😍

  18. I find it interesting that GBHs and swans living in an urban setting. I lived closer to the waterfront when I lived in Boston years ago, when the harbor was not so nice.

    • Hi Danzig – thanks for stopping by and commenting. Those Swan and Heron photos were taken on a freshwater lake about 20 miles west of Boston. The area has a surprising amount of wildlife and green spaces given that it is so close to such a big city – there are also Coyote, Foxes, Bobcats, a small number of Black Bears and more. You’re fortunate to have lived on Boston and they have made big progress cleaning up the harbor and rivers, thank goodness!

  19. Thanks for sharing this wonderful photo of this Heron. This image is so photogenic .Anita

    • Hi Anita – thank you for your lovely comment. That image is one of my personal favorites. Also, I have been enjoying your own photography on your blog. You have shared so many unique scenes from your treks to 100 countries. I especially like the driftwood Whales sculpture from a few days ago!

Leave a comment