Saturday Mute Swan Bath Time Again

Mute Swan Pair Flying in Tandem- babsjeheron © 2021 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Mute Swan Pair Flying in Tandem- babsjeheron

Another bath? Do we have to?

Well it IS Saturday and that does mean bath day – even for birds.

That Saturday, I was tired, and the journey back to the home dock would take another hour and a half. I had already bagged a fair number of Great Blue Heron captures and was eager to take out.

From a distance, I gave a passing glance at the southern shoreline and saw the usual pair of Mute Swans floating in their usual spot, and so I paddled on.

Rounding the curve below the Labs, coming closer to the Swans, I noticed an odd-looking thrashing and splashing unlike any Swan behavior I’d seen before.

Binoculars up, I sat transfixed, watching from across the channel as one of the Swans took a Saturday bath. Amazing.

Many of us have seen Robins, or Warblers, or other small songbirds splashing about in a backyard garden birdbath. Now, imagine a bird with a 7-to-8 foot wingspan behaving just the same – dunking their head and neck fully below the surface, coming back up to shake off the water, rearing up on legs, wings akimbo flapping and expelling droplets galore, and preening, preening, preening to sort out feathers. The Swan’s bath lasted more than 15 minutes. I wouldn’t have missed it for the world. i took just over 250 photographs in that 15 minutes. Canon burst mode for the win.

Mute Swan Bathing Nbr 3 – babsjeheron © 2021 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Mute Swan Bathing Nbr 3 – babsjeheron

And did you feel it, in your heart, how it pertained to everything?
And have you too finally figured out what beauty is for?
And have you changed your life?

The Swan, Excerpt.
Mary Oliver,
Swan: Poems and Prose Poems

Mute Swan Bathing Nbr 2 - babsjeheron  © 2021 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Mute Swan Bathing Nbr 2 – babsjeheron


.
.
BONUS SWAN THAT IS OUT OF THIS WORLD, LITERALLY – FROM OUR OWN MILKY WAY CLICK HERE to see The Swan Nebula from Drexel Glascow Astrophotography
.
.

Obligatory. What’s a Saturday night bath without a Rubber Ducky!

Rubber Duckie you’re the one,
You make bathtime lots of fun,
Rubber Duckie I’m awfully fond of you
Vo-vo-dee-o!

Jeff Moss
The Sesame Street Songbook

giant inflated rubber ducky floating © 2020 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Rubber Ducky at the Lake – babsjeheron

That playful Rubber Duckie bobbed along in the cove for hours that day, until — well, see for yourself in the next photo when a couple thought they were making a clean getaway with Big Duckie in their canoe.

Absconding with Rubber Duckie - babsjeheron   © 2023 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Absconding with Rubber Duckie – babsjeheron

.
.
.
.

.

About today’s post: Today’s post is prompted by Debbie Smyth’s Six on Saturday, I.J.’s Bird of the Week, and Terri’s Sunday Stills: Fun with Furred and Feathered Friends.

.
.

Because of my near-blindness, I’m not able to link in my posts to the various host sites for WP challenges/tags in the way I have always done in the past, but please know that I value the sense of community here, especially among the Lens Artists, Debbie Smyth, Leanne Cole, BeckyB, I.J., Restless Jo, Tofino Photography, Dan Antion, Terri Webster Schrandt, Bush Boy, Jez, Fandango, and so many more, who all encourage the entire international network of photographers and writers. Sorry that I cannot link directly at this time – this is the best I can do for now.
.
.

Great Blue Herons at TCAN Lobby January & February 2022 - babsjeheron © 2022 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great Blue Herons at TCAN Lobby – babsjeheron

TCAN One-Woman Show May 2018 Lobby Wall © 2021 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

TCAN One-Woman Show Lobby Wall – babsjeheron

TCAN One-Woman Show January thru February 26 2022 Lobby Wall With TCAN Reflection © 2022 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

TCAN One-Woman Show January through February 2022 Lobby Wall With TCAN Sign Reflected; TCAN Stained glass art by Carol Krentzman, framed by Jay Ball

My Great Blue Heron photographs were once again on display on the walls of the lobby and theater in a free one-woman show at the Summer Street Gallery, of The Center for Arts in Natick. The Summer Street Gallery provides an opportunity for accomplished visual artists in the region to have their work prominently displayed. Please stop by TCAN to see the wonderful gallery of artworks by many talented visual artists, as well as excellent live music performances and stage plays. The gallery is open whenever the box office is open, so please check hours here.

As always, many of my own photos were taken on the waterways of the Charles River watershed.

.

Natick Center Cultural District logo

Natick Center Cultural District logo

Folks, now that some areas have opened back up in a new normal, please consider supporting your local Arts communities – whether music, theater, crafts, visual arts venues, and others. All have been impacted over the past THREE years and they still need your love more than ever.
.
The Natick Center Cultural District is situated in a friendly, classic New England town hosting a vibrant, contemporary fusion of art, culture and business. Click here and here to learn more!

.

My brick & mortar presence in Massachusetts dates back to 2009 in several local venues/galleries.
.

Watch this space for my free 2023 one-woman show – Coming this summer.
.

TCAN – The Center for Arts Natick:

  • January thru February 2022 – One-woman photography show
  • December 2019 thru January 2020 – One-woman photography show
  • May, June, July 2018 – One-woman photography show
  • July 2016 – One-woman photography show
  • March 2016 – One-woman photography show
  • May 2015 – One-woman photography show

Natick Town Hall:

  • July 2022 to January 2023 – Group exhibit
  • January thru June 2022 – Group exhibit
  • September thru october 2018 – One-woman photography show

Five Crows Gallery in Natick – Represented since 2013
.
Audubon Sanctuary:

  • July 2009 – One-woman photography show

.

Be a fly on the wall! Please CLICK HERE to see the Great Blue Herons gracing the gallery walls.
.

.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

May the Muse be with you.™

The Tao of Feathers™

A Patience of Herons™

© 2003-2023 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Share the love, but please respect the copyright. No reposting of any photos without permission.

Great Blue Heron, Kayaking, TCAN, Five Crows, Natick Center Cultural District, Swan

Posted on June 24, 2023, in # Lens-Artists, ardea herodias, Art, Birds, Mindfulness, Nature, Sunday Stills, Wildlife Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 82 Comments.

  1. christinenovalarue

    🤍

  2. Of course the swan is beautiful, but the rubber ducky surfaced two memories. One is that it’s time to purchase my rubber ducky for this year’s race. Scroll down the page a bit, and there’s some information about the great charity that it benefits.

    As for memory #2 — I had forgotten, but am glad now to remember the day I was driving into Houston on one of our freeways, looked over, and saw a car with a huge rubber duckie strapped into the passenger seat. I have no explanation, but it was hilarious.

  3. The bathing swan is so pretty, and still graceful at bathtime. 🙂

  4. Great pics. Always liked Oliver’s poem.

  5. Superb captures, Babsje 😃

  6. That swan knew you were watching. And knew the lighting was perfect.

    • Oh my yes, I think you’re right, Susan. What a fun comment, thanks. In fact, in that 3rd frame I do believe the Swan was saying “Ready for my close-up, Mr. DeMille.

  7. What a beautiful surprise to see the swan bathing!

    • Thanks so much for your lovely comment! I’m glad you enjoyed Saturday bath day with the Mute Swan. It was a once in a lifetime experience.

  8. Two amazing sets Babsje.

    • Hi Anne – thanks so much for your gracious comment. I know you’re a big fan of birds. This was one of those occasions when I considered what the bathing sequence would have looked like if done as a video instead of the still images. I think that the details in the second set especially wouldn’t have stood out so distinctly in video. Glad you liked this one. Thanks.

  9. A refreshing bath, that’s what we all like…. not only the swans 😉
    You made some nice pictures of these swans playing around in the water.

  10. What a wonderful moment for you, Babsje!!!

  11. Those are wonderful action shots of their bath. We watch the small birds in the birdbaths here–my they make a mess–and run the empty-clean-refill cycle over and over.

    • Thanks for the lovely comment, Dan. You’re fortunate to have birdbaths, even if they can be a lot of work! Do your birds observe a pecking order or queue up to take their turns? One thing that fascinates is watching the small birds take a dirt bath in my driveway. I wonder if it feels like that “dry shampoo” that was (trying to become) popular years ago?

      • We have several birdbaths (well, one birdbath and several large and small flower pot saucers). We have one robin who prefers to bathe alone. He makes a mess. We often have groups of 4-6 black birds and bluejays in there at once. Some of the little birds enjoy the deep water while others like the small saucers. It’s funny to watch them.

        • Wow, they have quite the social structure worked out. Sounds like “everybody into the pool” for the Blue Jays and Blackbirds. Robins can be such characters – ours attacks it’s own reflection in the side mirror of the car and also our front door. Birds are endless sources of marvelous entertainment and joy!

  12. Why should humans have all the fun, Babsje?

  13. Even their baths are elegant! 😉 Wonderfully captured, my dear Babsje!
    …and of course I love the rubber ducky intervention! ❤️😘

    • Hi Marina – thanks for your generous compliment! I agree, the Swan sure haa an elegant air. And im glad you noticed the Rubber Duckie, thanks! I think many people don’t bother to read all the way down when a post gets long. Wishing you a great end to your weekend and a beautiful new week ahead. 🙏 💕

  14. I’ve never seen a Swan taking a bath before but they must make a huge splash!
    Any other bird wanting a bath need only go close!
    Excellent shots Babsje!

    • Hi Wayne – thanks very much. I bet one of your Trumpeter Swans would make a splash large enough to give any nearby critters a soothing shower on a hot summer day.

  15. Beautiful. The Mary Oliver poem, too. So glad to know about it.

  16. That’s a beautiful series of photos, Babsje. We love watching little passerines in our birdbath but a swan, that’s something else! I’d love to see it. 🙂

    • Many thanks, Blue, I’m pleased that you enjoyed this series. Every once in a while I wonder about doing a video instead of still images, but in this case I think the video would have not shown the details of how exultant that Swan was!

  17. What a great series of photos Babsje!

    • Hi Denzil – thanks very much for your lovely comment. I’m glad you enjoyed the bathing beauty Swan. I feel fortunate to have been in the right place at the right time that day.

  18. Lovely images – beautiful swans.

  19. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing this. 🙌

    • Hi T.W. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed the bathing beauty Swan. It was a once-in-a-lifetime experience to behold. Thanks for your kind comment.

  20. Yet another great set of pics. I can’t tell you how often you come to my mind as I’m sitting at the Audubon and a beautiful Great Blue comes in my view finder. As I miss the photo with all the movement, I think to myself, “Whoa, Babsje would have caught a beautiful photo of this!” 😉
    Hope you are well, and enjoying Heron Season!
    -Peace
    Julie

    • Many thanks, Julie! I’m happy that you’re able to see an occasional Great Blue when you’re at your Audubon. They always take my breath away! Hope you have a fun and relaxing holiday.

  21. Thanks for sharing your images.

  22. I have photos of swans, but nothing as majestic as yours. Great job.

  23. Amazing photos of a bathing beauty, Babsje. My thoughts and prayers are with you. You do a great job of photography.

  24. Marvellous. A pair of Mute Swans have nested and raised young ones in a shallow pond at my workplace for at least the 11 years I have been there. Haven’t yet been fortunate enough to capture them dans le bain.

    Yay for Canon burst mode!

    • How wonderful that you have seen that pair and Cygnets for 11 years! You must know their habits quite well by now. And yes – burst mode for the win. I wouldn’t have been able to capture that bathing sequence any other way. Thanks for the kind comment.

  25. What a gorgeous set of mute swan bathing beauty photos!

  26. Amazing, you really clicked beautiful pictures I loved it and feel happy to see these. Thanks for sharing

  27. Great to see the swans having such fun. Thanks for sharing such a great capture of their morning bath, Basje

  28. The bathing swans are such a magical sight for you to see.
    They look like their doing a special swan dance. Capturing the movements
    in your photographs is perfection. I’m happy you were able to do it so you could share it with us. Thank you … Namaste, Isadora 😎

    • Many thanks for your generous comment and compliment, Isadora. I like your expression ‘special Swan dance.” Yes, it was definitely a dance!

  29. wow, really enjoyed this celebration of swans, babsje. I enjoyed your description and then the wonderful photos to follow of what must have been an incredible scene to witness in person. I love the aura of water that you captured around the swan, too. Beautiful words from Mary Oliver too. Thanks for this delightful post, my friend.

    • Thanks so much for your thoughtful comment, Jet! I adore your expression “celebration of swans.” It truly was an exuberant celebration and I was so grateful for the gift of witnessing the exultant Swan.

      • Hi Jet – I think some of my comments om your blog and those of other people may be landing on spam folders. If you find me there, can you please mark me as not spam? Thanks!

  30. “I’m so glad you had your camera with you to capture this moment. It’s truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience.”

    • Hi Aisling! Many thanks for your generous compliment about the bathing beauty Mute Swans. I’m so glad that you enjoyed the photos, and you’re right – it was definitely a once-in-a-lifetime moment.

Leave a comment