Great Blue Heron’s Guest…Flower???

Magnolia

“I have always trusted pink,” Audrey Hepburn

From Blossoms

There are days we live
as if death were nowhere
in the background; from joy
to joy to joy, from wing to wing,
from blossom to blossom to
impossible blossom, to sweet impossible blossom.

~ Li-Young Lee ~
From Blossoms (excerpt)
Rose (New Poets of America)

.

You were expecting maybe a Heron today?
Just something a little different for Cee’s FOTD and (Not entirely) WordlessWednesday.
.

© 2004-2021 Babsje. (Http://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Magnolia in B&W

Suddenly I realize
That if I stepped out of my body I would break
Into blossom.

James Wright
A Blessing (excerpt)
The Branch Will Not Break

Magnolias

Magnolias

They say that scent has more power to elicit past memories and emotions than any of our other senses. The scent of magnolia blossoms transports me back just as surely as a photograph would, and I am enraptured all over again.
.
.

Yes, I know they’re not herons. Here’s an obligatory Heron photo …
.

© Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great Blue Heron in small pond with flowering grasses – babsjeheron

/
/
Thanks to Cee for her FOTD Flower of the Day Challenge.
.
,
Folks, now that some areas are opening back up, please consider supporting your local Arts communities – whether music, theater, crafts, visual arts venues, and others. All have been impacted over the past year and they need your love.

My brick & mortar presence in Massachusetts dates back to 2009 in several local venues/galleries.

2015 (May), 2016 (March and July), 2018 (May, June, July), 2019 (December), 2020 (January) several one-woman photography shows at TCAN – The Center for Arts Natick
2018 (September, October) one-woman photography show at Natick Town Hall
2013 thru now 2021 Five Crows Gallery in Natick
2009 one-woman photography show at a local Audubon Sanctuary

From December 4 through January 28, 2020, my Great Blue Heron photographs were once again on display on the walls of the lobby and theater in a free one-woman show at the Summer Street Gallery, of The Center for Arts in Natick.

Many of the photos in the exhibit were shown for the first time, and do not appear on the blog. As always, many of the photos were taken on the waterways of the Charles River watershed.
.

.
Thanks to Erica V and WordPress for the recent WPC: Place in the World. My favorite place is where the Herons are, of course it is. And the Herons? Their place is near the water, but also on the gallery walls and my blog. How else can I share them with you?

Thanks also to Ben H and WordPress for their WPC Challenge: Liquid. The Herons are drawn to water, as am I.
.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

The Tao of Feathers™

© 2003-2021 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great Blue Heron, TCAN, Five Crows, Natick

Posted on June 9, 2021, in # Lens-Artists, Art, Flower of the Day Challenge, Flowers, Great Blue Heron, Magnolia, Weekly Photo Challenge, Wildlife Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. What a gorgeous post and photos. 😀

  2. Great pictures 👍 ethereal. The free verse of Lee-Young Lee is rather wooden in comparison.
    Thanks for sharing
    The Fab Four of Cley
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. Well well Babsje! who knew you were a flower photographer?! These are very beautifully done – lack of herons notwithstanding 😊. And you chose one of my favorite blossoms, although your variety is quite different from ours. Wonderful images.

    • Hi Tina. Love your comment, thanks! Your expression “Lack of herons not withstanding” tickled my funnybone. 😊 I ❤ magnolias. They aren’t just a visual delight – the velvety feel of magnolia petals is a tactile treat. Best, Babsje

  4. I wonder what would happen If you hung a bunch of fresh Magnolia’s over your bed?
    The Aromatherapy would be off the chart!
    Great shots Babsje!

    • Great comment, love the idea of Magnolia aromatherapy! Thanks Wayne. Best, Babsje

      • can’t say I have ever smelled a Magnolia Babsje? Not sure If they grow this far north?
        I do love when the Yucca trees are in bloom! Which should be in a few weeks! Tiny white flowers with not much physical beauty but the aroma always catches my imagination!
        I’ve thought about having a hammock strung up in any flowering orchard for a nights rest! I wonder If the dreams would be different?

Leave a comment