Beautiful Great Blue Heron’s Touchdown

Great Blue Heron Fledgling Touch Down - babsjeheron © 2021 Babsje (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great Blue Heron Fledgling Touch Down B&W – babsjeheron

Great Blue Heron Fledgling Warrior - babsjeheron Great Blue Heron Fledgling Warrior - babsjeheron

Great Blue Heron Fledgling Warrior B&W – babsjeheron

.

.
.
After feeding the birds that afternoon, I walked over to the shrubbery along the shore to look at the swimming float platform half-way across the cove.

My distance vision isn’t very good. I could tell there was a largish bird on the platform, but not whether it was a Cormorant or a Great Blue Heron from so far away. It was preening, stretching its neck up, bill down, and could have been either as far as I could tell.

I decided to call to it, and if it responded, that would tell me which.

Arrrh.. I called softly.

Arrrh..

And suddenly – before I could utter a third arrrh – there was a short clamoring of frawhnk… frawhnk… frawhnk… coming from my immediate left, not five feet away.

NOT from the Heron on the swimming float – there were two Herons!

Obscured by the trees and bushes, a fledgling Heron had been on a neighbor’s dock.

It heard my call, answered my call, and then flew directly towards the shore where I stood, right past me with less than two feet separating us, and landed on the dock to my right.

I walked over to the path by the dock, careful to not approach too closely, and called again…

Arrrh..

Arrrh..

And the Heron’s neck craned up full height, its right eye seeking me out, watching me, watching me.

I stood still for a long while, until the bird folded its neck back into that graceful curve and began foraging along the shore.

Goosebumps that the fledgling Heron responded to my call, and came closer.

Fledglings are great in that way – fearless their first summer in the world.

I love them for that fearlessness.

.

.

This post is prompted by Cee Neuner, Jez Braithwaite and the creative and inspiring Lens Artists Tina, Amy, Patti, and Leya, all of whom encourage the community of photographers and writers.

Please click the links below to see the beautiful offerings from these wonderful photographers.
.
.

Thanks to Cee for her CBWC: Any structure using concrete. The background is concrete.
.
.

Thanks to Jez for the Water Water Everywhere Challenge. The fpregrpind is water.
.
.

.

Folks, now that some areas are opening back up, please consider supporting your local Arts communities – whether music, theater, crafts, visual arts venues, and others. All have been impacted over the past year and a half and they need your love more than ever.
.

Art in the Park 2021

Art in the Park 2021.

.

This past Sunday, October 17th, Shaw Park in South Natick came alive with Art in the Park. More than 2 dozen local artists offered their art for visitors. It was a beautiful Autumn day of art and music. (I am still recovering from eye surgery and did not show my photos this year, but hope to see you next October!)

.
.

My brick & mortar presence in Massachusetts dates back to 2009 in several local venues/galleries.

Please watch this space for news of my upcoming Winter 2022 gallery show.

TCAN – The Center for Arts Natick
.
Natick Town Hall
.
Five Crows Gallery in Natick
,
Audubon Sanctuary
.

Be a fly on the wall! You can CLICK HERE to see the gallery walls with Herons .
.

.

Remember: Walk softly and carry a long lens.™

May the Muse be with you.™

The Tao of Feathers™

© 2003-2021 Babsje. (https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com)

Great Blue Heron, Kayaking, TCAN, Five Crows, Natick

Posted on October 19, 2021, in ardea herodias, B&W, Birds, Heron, Monochrome Monday, Nature, Photography, Wildlife Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. Wow, what a spine-tingling experience that must have been. I’m intrigued by the thought of being able to do a heron arrrh… call. Do you have any tips for learning how?

    • Hi Sarah. Thanks so much for your lovely comment. I’m glad you liked this Heron story. In terms of how that arrrh sound sounds like, imagine saying the letter R but drag it out longer and “roll the r’s” a little like you would if speaking French. Hope that helps a little? Probably other languages have rolled r’s? Maybe Italian or Spanish? Thanks for asking. Best, Babsje

  2. What a wonderful story, & fantastic captures 👏 I look forward to more of your posts in the future Babsje 😃

  3. Terrific photo for this challenge. 😀 😀

  4. Thanks for the follow, hon! Much appreciated.

  5. Beautiful! Have you/would you ever take film clips of the herons?
    Just wondering!
    Julie

    • Hi Julie. Glad you like this post. Yes, I have done some movie clips but don’t post them on the blog. Thanks for asking. Best, Babsje

    • Hi Julie. Thanks again for asking that question. I first started capturing Herons in video back in 2006. Through a convoluted computer problem this week, I had to launch the old computer I use back then and found those old clips. It was a sweet walk down memory. And a reminder of how much the technology has improved in the past 15 years!

      • Even with new technology, I struggle to make any worthwhile video. The more still I try to be, the more my hands shake!! And with wildlife, most of the time there is no time for a tripod.
        -Cheers,
        Julie

  6. I saw this and said, “Wow! A whole site devoted to Herons, I love it! We have a few who frequent our neighborhood ponds in Northern VA, but I miss seeing them daily as we did when living in the Chesapeake Bay Area. Thanks for sharing your gorgeous photos.

    • Hi Eileen. Many thanks for visiting and for your kind comment. Glad you can see the beautiful Herons there. They are such beautiful and graceful creatures. Best, Babsje

  7. Remarkable! Love the wings of the first image.

    • Thanks so much, Amy! Glad you like it. You know, that post has been up many days now and not a single person has made any football jokes about my use of the word touchdown! I’m really surprised. Best, Babsje

Leave a comment